DSC Library: Citation & Documentation: APA References

Helpful Information

Your APA research essay ends with a list of all the sources cited in the text of the paper. Here are nine quick rules for this Reference page.

Start a new page for your Reference list. Centre the title, References, at the top of the page.
Double-space the list.
Start the first line of each reference at the left margin; indent each subsequent line five spaces (a hanging indent).
Put your list in alphabetical order. Alphabetize the list by the first word in the reference. In most cases, the first word will be the author’s last name. Where the author is unknown, alphabetize by the first word in the title, ignoring the words a, an, the.
For each author, give the last name followed by a comma and the first (and middle, if listed) initials followed by periods.
Italicize the titles of these works: books, audiovisual material, internet documents and newspapers, and the title and volume number of journals and magazines.
Do not italicize titles of most parts of works, such as: articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals / essays, poems, short stories or chapter titles from a book / chapters or sections of an Internet document.
In titles of non-periodicals (books, videotapes, websites, reports, poems, essays, chapters, etc), capitalize only the first letter of the first word of a title and subtitle, and all proper nouns (names of people, places, organizations, nationalities).
If a web source (not from the library) is not a stable archived version, or you are unsure whether it is stable, include a statement of the accessed date before the link.

How Do I Cite?

**Print Advertisements from a Magazine, Journal or Newspaper - Known Title**

Name of Company That Owns the Product. (Year, Month Day of issue which contains advertisement if known).

Name of advertisement [Advertisement]. *Name of Journal, Magazine or Newspaper, Volume*(Issue) if known, page number advertisement is found on.
Reference Entry	BMW. (2011, June 4). Diesel reinvented [Advertisement]. Fictional Magazine, 7(1), 17.
In-Text Paraphrase	(Company Name, Year). Example: (BMW, 2011).
In-Text Direct Quote	(Company Name, Year, p. Page Number). Example: (BMW, 2011, p. 17).

**Print Advertisements from a Magazine, Journal or Newspaper - Unknown Title**

Name of Company That Owns the Product. (Year, Month Day of issue which contains advertisement if known).

[Advertisement for Name of Product being advertised]. *Name of Journal, Magazine or Newspaper, Volume*(Issue) if known, page number advertisement is found on.
Reference Entry	FedEx. (2011, May). [Advertisement for FedExCup]. Sample Magazine, 5(1), 30.
In-Text Paraphrase	(Company Name, Year). Example: (FedEx, 2011).
In-Text Direct Quote	(Company Name, Year, p. Page Number). Example: (FedEx, 2011, p. 30).

**Video Advertisement from YouTube Posted by Advertiser**

Name of Company That Owns the Product. (Year, Month Day of issue which contains advertisement if known).

[Advertisement for Name of Product being advertised]. *Name of Journal, Magazine or Newspaper, Volume*(Issue) if known, page number advertisement is found on.

If you are citing an advertisement that has appeared at the beginning of another video, make sure to open the video advertisement in a new window to obtain the link for only the advertisement.
Reference Entry	Google Canada. (2017, October 16). Google Home Mini [Advertisement]. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qbW9pug1pE8 In the example above, all words of the title are capitalized because the advertisement is the same as the product name and is treated as a proper noun.
In-Text Paraphrase	(Company Name, Year). Example: (Google Canada, 2017).
In-Text Direct Quote	(Company Name, Year) Example: (Google Canada, 2017) Because videos typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers, or section headings, this information is left out of the in-text citation.

**Video Advertisement from YouTube Posted by a YouTube User - Not the Advertiser**

User Name that Posted the Video. (Year, Month Day Posted). *Name of video* [Advertisement]. URL
Reference Entry	TrendCrave. (2016, February 17). Top 10 best Super Bowl 50 commericals (2016 funniest ads) [Advertisement]. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2c2mPpvcpw
In-Text Paraphrase	(User Name, Year). Example: (TrendCrave, 2016).
In-Text Direct Quote	(User Name, Year). Example: (TrendCrave, 2016). Note: Because videos typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers, or section headings, this information is left out of the in-text citation.

**Book with One Author (Print or eBook from Library Database)**

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). *Title of book: Subtitle if given*. Publisher Name often shortened.

**Please Note**:

Place of publication is not required when using APA 7th edition.

For eBooks, the database is not required.

If the book is a numbered edition (for example many textbooks) include this information.
Reference Entry	Watson, J. (2012). Human caring science: A theory of nursing. Jones & Bartlett Learning.
In-Text Paraphrase	(Author's Last Name, Year). Example: (Watson, 2012).
In-Text Direct Quote	(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number). Example: (Watson, 2012, p. 70).

**Book with Two to Twenty Authors (Print or eBook from Library Database)**

Last Name of First Author, First Initial. Second Initial if Given, & Last Name of Second Author, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). *Title of book: Subtitle if given*. Publisher Name often shortened.

**Please Note**:

Authors' names are separated by commas. Put a comma and an ampersand (&) before the name of the last author cited.

Must include ALL names in the reference list for publications with up to 20 authors.

Place of publication is not required when using APA 7th edition.

For library eBooks, the database is not required.
Reference Entry	Case, L. P., Daristotle, L., Hayek, M. G., & Raash, M. F. (2011). Canine and feline nutrition: A resource for companion animal professionals. Mosby.
In-Text Paraphrase	See In-Text Chart Below
In-Text Direct Quote	See In-Text Chart Below

APA In-Text Chart

Number of Authors/Editors	First Time Paraphrased	Second and Subsequent Times Paraphrased	First Time Quoting	Second and Subsequent Times Quoting
Two	(Case & Daristotle, 2011)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011, p. 57)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011, p. 57)
Three or more	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)

**Chapter in an Edited Book**

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of chapter, article, essay or short story. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if Given. Editor's Last Name (Ed.), *Title of book* (pp. first page number-last page number). Publisher Name often shortened.

**Note**:

If you have more than one editor list their name(s) after the first editor listed in the book, giving their initials and last name. Put an ampersand (&) before the last editor's name.

When you have one editor the short form (Ed.) is used after the editor's name. If you have more than one editor use (Eds.) instead.
Reference Entry	Stockert, P. A. & Taylor, C. (2014). Sleep. In P. A. Potter, A. G. Perry, J. C. Ross-Kerr & M. J. Wood (Eds.), Canadian fundamentals of nursing (pp. 993-1016). Elsevier. Note: If there is no editor given you may leave out that part of the citation.
In-Text Paraphrase	(Author's Last Name, Year). Example (2 authors): (Stockert & Taylor, 2014).
In-Text Direct Quote	(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number). Example (2 authors): (Stockert & Taylor, 2014, p. 998).

Citing with No Author

If no author or creator is provided, start the citation with the title/name of the item you are citing instead. Follow the title/name of the item with the date of publication, and the continue with other citation details.

Remember: an author/creator may be an organization or corporation, for example Health Canada. If you don't have a person's name as the author, but do have the name of an organization or corporation, put that organization/corporation's name as the author.

Anonymous

If and only if an item is signed as being created by Anonymous, use "Anonymous" where you'd normally put the author's name.

In-Text

When you have no author, use a shortened version of the title where you'd normally put the author's name.

If you're citing something which is part of a bigger work, like an article from a magazine, newspaper, journal, encyclopedia, or chapter/short story from a book, put the shortened title in quotation marks in your in-text citation:

Example, paraphrase: ("A few words," 2014)

If you're citing an entire work, like a book, website, video, etc., italicize the shortened title in your in-text citation:

Example, paraphrase: (A few words, 2014)

**Book Reviews from Library Database - No Title**

Author of Review's Last Name, First Initial. (Year of Publication). [Review of the book *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any*, by Book Author's First Initial. Second Initial if Given Last Name]. *Name of Journal*, *Volume Number*(Issue Number), first page number-last page number. https://doi number if given
Reference Entry	McKinley, A. (2018). [Review of the book Criminal investigative failures, by D. K. Rossmo]. Salus Journal, 6(1), 82-84.
In-Text Direct Quote	(Author's Last Name, Year of Publication, Page Number). Example: (McKinley, 2018, p. 83).

For more information on how to cite Book Reviews in APA 7, refer to pages 334-335 of the Publication Manual of APA.

**Book Reviews from a Website - With Title**

Author of Review's Last Name, First Initial. (Year of Publication). Title of Review. [Review of the book *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any*, by Book Author's First Initial. Second Initial if Given Last Name]. *Title of Website*, URL
Reference Entry	Bell, M. S. (2006, December 31). Are you my mother? [Review of the book Let the northern lights erase your name, by V. Vida]. The New York Times Book Review, https://www.nytimes.com/2006/12/31/books/review/Bell.t.html?ref-review
In-Text Direct Quote	(Author's Last Name, Year of Publication). Example: (Bell, 2018).

**ChatGPT**

OpenAI. (2023). *ChatGPT* (Mar 14 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat
In-Text Citation	Parenthetical citation: (OpenAI, 2023) Narrative citation: OpenAI (2023)

**PowerPoint Presentation Slides**

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year Presentation Was Created). *Title of presentation: Subtitle if any* [PowerPoint presentation].
Reference Entry	Kunka, J. L. (n.d.). Conquering the comma [PowerPoint presentation]. Purdue University Writing Lab Website.
In-Text Direct Quote	(Author's Last Name, Year, slide slide number). Example: (Kunka, n.d., slide 10). Note: When no date is given, use the initials "n.d." where you'd normally put the date. Note: APA does not provide specific rules for direct quoting of PowerPoint slides. We recommend giving the slide number.

**Class Handout in Print**

Instructor's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Year Handout Was Created if known). *Title of handout: Subtitle if any* [Class handout]. Daytona State College, Course code.
Reference Entry	Dunaway, B. (2023). How to Write for Fun: Activities to Help Creative Flow [Class handout]. Daytona State College, ENC0027.
In-Text Direct Quote	(Instructor's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number) Example: (Dunaway, 2023, p. 1)

**In-Class Lecture Notes**

(First Initial of Faculty Who Gave Lecture. Second Initial if known. Last Name, personal communication,

Month Day, Year lecture took place.)

**Note**: Your own notes from a lecture are considered personal communications in APA style. They are cited within the text of your assignment, but do **not** get an entry on the References list. Put the citation right after a quote or paraphrased content from the class lecture.
Reference Entry Example One	"Infections are often contracted while patients are recovering in the hospital" (J. D. Black, personal communication, May 30, 2012)
Reference Entry Example Two	J. D. Black explained that "infections are often contracted while patients are recovering in the hospital" (personal communication, May 30, 2012). Note: If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation.

**Government Document from a Website**

Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee. (Year of Publication, Month Day). Title of document: Subtitle if given (edition if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name. URL
Reference Entry	Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services. (2010, April 27). Your preschool child's speech and language development. http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/topics/earlychildhood/ speechlanguage/brochure_preschool.aspx Note: When the government department, agency or committee that created the document is also the publisher, omit the publisher.
In-Text Paraphrase	(Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee, Year). Example: (Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services, 2010).
In-Text Direct Quote	(Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee, Year, Section Name section, para. Paragraph Number if more than one paragraph in section) Example: (Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services, 2010, By Age Five section, para. 4) Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from.

**Government Document in Print**

Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee. (Year of Publication). *Title of document: Subtitle if given* (edition if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name.
Reference Entry	Health Council of Canada. (2007). Canadians' experience with chronic illness care in 2007. Note: When the government department, agency or committee that created the document is also the publisher, omit the publisher.
In-Text Paraphrase	(Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee, Year). Example: (Health Council of Canada, 2007).
In-Text Direct Quote	(Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee, Year, p. Page Number) Example: (Health Council of Canada, 2007, p. 4)

Image from Magazine or Journal

Note: Applies to Graphs, Charts, Drawings, Maps, Tables and Photographs

Figure X. Description of the image or title of the image. From "Title of Article," by Article Author's First Initial. Second Initial. Last Name, year, day, (for a magazine) or year (for a journal), Title of Magazine or Journal, volume number, page(s). Copyright year by name of copyright holder.

Note: Information about the image is placed directly below the image in your assignment. If the image has been changed, use "Adapted from" instead of "From" before the source information.

Example:

Black and white male figure exercising

Image from Website

Note: Applies to Graphs, Charts, Drawings, Tables and Photographs

Figure x. Description of the image or image title if given. Adapted from "Title of web page," by Author/Creator's First Initial. Second Initial. Last Name if given, publication date if given, Title of Website. Retrieved Month, day, year that you last viewed the website, from url. Copyright date by Name of Copyright Holder.

Note: Information about the image is placed directly below the image in your assignment. If the image has not been changed but simply reproduced use "From" instead of "Adapted from" before the source information.

Example:

A	B	C
7	55	9
--	~	~
iii	==	66

Interviews via Email, Phone, In-Person, etc.

Note: Interviews and e-mail are considered personal communications in APA style. They are cited within the text of your assignment, but do not get an entry on the References list. Put the citation right after a quote or paraphrased content from the interview or e-mail.

(First Initial of Person Who Was Interviewed or sent the e-mail. Second Initial if known. Last Name,

personal communication, Month Day, Year interview took place or e-mail was received)

Example

"Infections are often contracted while patients are recovering in the hospital" (J. D. Black, personal communication, May 30, 2013)

Example

J. D. Black explained that "infections are often contracted while patients are recovering in the hospital"

(personal communication, May 30, 2013).

Note: If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation.

Note: Published interviews can appear in many types of sources (magazines, newspapers etc.). When citing published interviews, follow the guidelines for the type of source it was published in.

Journal Article from Library Database - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number. https://doi.org/DOInumber

Reference Entry

Bailey, N. W. (2012). Evolutionary models of extended phenotypes. Trends in Ecology & Evolution, 27(3), 561-569. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Bailey, 2012)

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

(Bailey, 2012, p. 562)

Journal Article from Library Database with DOI - Two to Twenty Authors

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given., & Last Name of Second Author, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number. https://doi.org/DOInumber

Note: Separate the authors' names by putting a comma between them. For the final author listed add an ampersand (&) after the comma and before the final author's last name.

Reference Entry	Pempek, T. A., Yermolayeva, Y. A., & Calvert, S. L. (2009). College students' social networking experiences on Facebook. Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology, 3(2), 227-238. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.appdev.2008.12.010t
In-Text Citation	See Chart Below

APA In-Text Chart

Number of Authors/Editors	First Time Paraphrased	Second and Subsequent Times Paraphrased	First Time Quoting	Second and Subsequent Times Quoting
Two	(Case & Daristotle, 2011)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011, p. 57)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011, p. 57)
Three or more	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)

Journal Article from Library Database no DOI - One Author

Note: The APA Manual (7th ed.) recommends not including the database or the URL of the journal home page for online articles without a DOI.

Reference Entry

Carlisle, D. (2012). In the line of fire. Nursing Standard, 26(39), 18-19.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Carlisle, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number).

Example: (Carlisle, 2012, p. 18).

Journal Article from Library Database no DOI - Two to Twenty Authors

Note: In the reference list invert all authors' names; give last names and initials for only up to and including twenty authors. When a source has twenty-one or more authors, include the first twenty authors’ names, then three ellipses (…), and add the last author’s name.

Note: The APA Manual (7th ed.) recommends not including the library database for journal articles without a DOI as these works are widely available.

Reference Entry	Bogan, E., & Paun, E. (2011). The assimilation of immigrants into the British labor market. Geopolitics, History, and International Relations, 3(2), 272.
In-Text Citation	See APA In-Text Chart Above

Journal Article from a Website - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number if given). URL.

Reference Entry

Flachs, A. (2010). Food for thought: The social impact of community gardens in the Greater Cleveland Area. Electronic Green Journal, 1(30). https://escholarship.org/uc/item/6bh7j4z4

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Flachs, 2010).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Flachs, 2010, Conclusion section, para. 3)

Note: In this example there were no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, so you can cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from.

Journal Article in Print - One Author

Reference Entry

Jungers, W. L. (2010). Biomechanics: Barefoot running strikes back. Nature, 463(2), 433-434.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).
Example: (Jungers, 2010).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page number).

Example: (Jungers, 2010, p. 433).

When a journal article has twenty-one or more authors:

References List

List the first nineteen authors followed by three spaced ellipse points (. . .) , and then the last author's name.

Reference Entry

Kalnay, E., Kanamitsu, M., Kistler, R., Collins, W., Deaven, D., Gandin, L., Iredell, M., Sha, S., White, G., Woollen, J., Zhu, Y., Chelliah, M., Ebisuzaki, W., Higgins, W., Janowiak, J., Mo, K. C., Ropepelewski, C., Wang, J., Leetmaa, A., ... Joesph, D. (1996). The NCEP/NCAR 40-year reanalysis project. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 77(3), 437-471. https://doi.org/fg6rf9

In-Text Paraphrase

(First author's last name et al., Year).

Example: (Nilsson et al., 2016).

In-Text Citation

(First author's last name et al., Year, p. Page number quote is from).

Example: (Nilsson et al., 2016, p. 103).

Magazine Article from Library Database or In Print - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Magazine, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number.

Reference Entry

Abramsky, S. (2012, May 14). The other America 2012. Nation, 294(20), 11-18.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Abramsky, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number).

Example: (Abramsky, 2012, p. 14).

Magazine Article from Library Database or In Print - Unknown Author

Article title: Subtitle if any. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Name of Magazine, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number if given.

Reference Entry

Syria's free army. (2012, June 11). Newsweek, 159(24).
Note: No page numbers were provided for this article.

In-Text Paraphrase

("One two or three words from title," Year)

Example: ("Syria's," 2012)

In-Text Citation

("One two or three words from title," Year)

Example: ("Syria's," 2012, para. 1)

Note: This entry has no page numbers, so a paragraph number is used instead.

Magazine Article from a Website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Magazine, Volume Number(Issue Number if given), first page number-last page number if given. URL

Reference Entry

Freedman, D. H. (2012, June). The perfected self. The Atlantic. http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2012/06/the-perfected-self/8970/4/?single_page=true

Note: If no volume, issue and/or page numbers are provided, skip them in the citation.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Freedman, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number or Paragraph Number or Section Heading).

Example: (Freedman, 2012, para. 1).

Note: This entry has no page numbers, so a paragraph number is used instead.

APA In-Text Citation Chart

Number of Authors/Editors	First Time Paraphrased	Second and Subsequent Times Paraphrased	First Time Quoting	Second and Subsequent Times Quoting
Two	(Case & Daristotle, 2011)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011, p. 57)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011, p. 57)
Three or More	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)

Newspaper Article from Library Database

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Newspaper, p. Section Page if given.

Reference Entry

Schachter, H. (2012, June 18). What does it take to be a good team player? The Globe and Mail, B7.

Note: If an article ends with a question mark or exclamation mark (!), you do not need to add a period to mark the end of the title.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Schachter, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number).

Example: (Schachter, 2012, p. B7).

Newspaper Article from a Website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given).

Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Newspaper. URL

Reference Entry

Aw, J. (2012, June 12). Stopping the soda bulge: Why we need to consider restricting sugary beverages. National Post. https://nationalpost.com/health/stopping-the-soda-bulge-why-we-need-to-consider-restricting-sugary-beverages

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Aw, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number).

Example: (Aw, 2012, para. 1).

Note: This entry has no page numbers, so a paragraph number is used instead.

Webpage from a News Website

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any.

Name of News Website. URL

Note: Use this format for articles published in online news sources such as BBC News, HuffPost, CNN, Salon etc.

Reference Entry

Tucker, E. & Miller, Z. (2020, Jan. 18). Dems gear up to make case for Trump's removal. HuffPost. https://www.huffpost.com/entry/dems-gear-up-to-make-case-for-trumps-removal_n_5e23569ec5b6321176149dbe

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Tucker & Miller, 2020).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number).

Example: (Tucker & Miller, 2020).

Note: This entry has no page numbers, so a paragraph number is used instead.

Newspaper Article in Print

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Newspaper, Section Page.

Reference Entry

Aulakh, R. (2012, June 13). From surviving to thriving. Toronto Star, GT1, GT4.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Aulakh, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number).

Example: (Aulakh, 2012, p. GT1).

Newspaper Article with an Unknown Author

Title of article: Subtitle if any. (Year of Publication, Month Day if Given). Name of Newspaper, p. Section Page.

Note: If instead of having no author, the article is signed as being written by "Anonymous", put the name "Anonymous" where you'd normally put the author's name. Only use the word Anonymous if the article is specifically credited that way.

Reference Entry

Get on board for train safety. (2012, June 17). Toronto Star, A14.

In-Text Paraphrase

("One two or three words from the title", Year)

Example: ("Get on board", 2012)

Note: Choose one or more of the first words from the title, enough to clearly identify the article in the Reference list. Use double quotation marks around the words from the title of an article in the in-text citation.

In-Text Citation

("One two or three words from the title", Year, p. Page Number)

Example: ("Get on board," p. A14)

**Bible/Qur'an/Talmud, etc. (All Scripture)**

*Title.* Editor statement, First Name Last Name of Editor, Year of publication, Publisher.
Reference	The Bhagavad Gita (E. Easwaran, Trans.; 2nd ed.). (2007). The Blue Mountain Center of Meditation.
In-Text Citation	(The Bhagavad Gita, 2007).
Reference	King James Bible. (2017). King James Bible Online. https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/ (Original work published 1769).
In-Text Citation	(King James Bible, 1769/2017).
Annotated Reference	Kaiser, W. C., Jr., & Garrett, D. (Eds.). (2006). NIV archeological study bible: An illustrated walk through biblical history and culture. Zondervan.
In-Text Citation	(Kaiser & Garrett, 2006)

Blog Post

Author's Last Name, First intial. Second Initial if Given. or Username if real name not provided. (Year blog post was published, Month Day). Title of blog post. Title of Blog. URL

Reference Entry

Dobbs, D. (2012, June 13). Fun in cities: Feature, not bug. Wired Science. http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/ 2012/06/fun-in-cities-feature-not-bug/

Note: If the blog author's real name is not provided, use their username instead.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Dobbs, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, Section Heading section if given).

Example: (Dobbs, 2012, para. 2).

Note: This blog post has no section headings, so only a paragraph number is given in the citation.

Podcast Episode

Director/Producer/Host's Last Name, First intial. Second Initial if Given. (Role in the production e.g. Host, Director, Producer) (Year podcast was released, Month Day if given). Title of podcast episode: Subtitle if given (episode number if known) [Audio podcast episode]. In Title of Podcast. Publisher. URL if known

Reference Entry

Rogers, S. (Host). (2012, June 18). Richard Wagamese: Children's book panel (No. 225) [Audio podcast episode]. In The Next Chapter. CBC. http://www.cbc.ca/thenextchapter/episode/2012/06/18/richard-wagamese-bookworm-childrens-book-panel/

In-Text Paraphrase

(Director/Producer/Host's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Rogers, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Director/Producer/Host's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Rogers, 2012).

Note: Because podcasts do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings,this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Streaming Video from a Website (YouTube, Vimeo, Hulu, etc.) - Poster's name Known

Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. of person who posted the video if known. [User name that posted the video] . (Year video was posted, Month Day). Title of video [Video]. Name of Streaming Service. URL

Note: According to APA, for citing purposes the person who posted the video is credited as the author.

Reference Entry

Nye, B. [TheRealBillNye]. (2009, April 8). Bill Nye the science guy on energy [Video]. You Tube. http://youtu.be/0ASLLiuejAo

In-Text Paraphrase

(Creator's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Nye, 2009).

In-Text Citation

(Creator's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Nye, 2009).

Note: Because videos typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings,this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Streaming Video from Library Database

Name of Company/Organization that Provided Content or Creator's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial. if known. (Director). (Year video was created, Month Day if known). Title of video [Video]. Name of Streaming Service.

Reference Entry

Owen, D. (Director). (1967). The Ernie game [Video]. NFB Education.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Name of Company/Organization/Creator, Year).

Example: (Owen, 1967).

In-Text Citation

(Name of Company/Organization, Year).

Example: (Owen, 1967).

Note: Because videos typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings,this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Twitter (Tweets)

Author last name, First initial. Second initial if given [@Twitter user name]. (Year tweet was posted, Month Day). Text of post up to the first twenty words [Tweet]. Twitter. URL

Reference Entry

Giridharadas, A. [@AnandWrites]. (2020, January 17). The fallacy of our age is that we can lift up those down below without interfering with those standing [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/AnandWrites/status/1218203291982749697

Note: Write out the actual text of the post in the citation and keep spelling, capitalization, and grammar the same as in the original, even if there are errors. Include any emojis that are present. If there is multimedia content note it in square brackets after the post (eg. [Video]).

In-Text Paraphrase

(Last name, Year).

Example: (Giridharadas, 2020).

Note: if there is no author last name, use the name of the account as you would with a group author.

In-Text Citation

(Twitter user name, Year).

Example: (Giridharadas, 2020).

Note: Because tweets do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings,this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Streaming Video from a Website (YouTube, Vimeo, Hulu, etc.) - Poster's name Known

Note: According to APA, for citing purposes the person who posted the video is credited as the author.

Reference Entry

Nye, B. [TheRealBillNye]. (2009, April 8). Bill Nye the science guy on energy [Video]. You Tube. http://youtu.be/0ASLLiuejAo

In-Text Paraphrase

(Creator's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Nye, 2009).

In-Text Citation

(Creator's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Nye, 2009).

Note: Because videos typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings,this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Streaming Video from a Website (YouTube, Vimeo, etc.) - Poster's name Unknown

User name that posted the video. (Year video was posted, Month Day). Title of video [Video]. Name of Website. URL

Note: According to APA, for citing purposes the person who posted the video is credited as the author.

Reference Entry

All Aces Media. (2012, January 19). Often awesome the series [Video]. Vimeo. http://vimeo.com/35311255

In-Text Paraphrase

(User name, Year).

Example: (All Aces Media, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(User name, Year, Time Stamp).

Example: (All Aces Media, 2012, 3:17).

Note: Because videos typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, instead provide a time stamp for the beginning of the quotation.

DVD with Named Producer, Director, or Writer

Director's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if given. (Director). (Year DVD was produced). Title of DVD [Film; optional descriptive information if DVD is a unique version]. Production Company.

Note: In general, you don't need to cite the format of a movie. However, include it if the information you are citing can be found only in that particular format or edition (e.g. special features or commentary).

Reference Entry

Jackson, P. (Director). (2001). The lord of the rings: The fellowship of the ring [Film; four-disc special extended ed. on DVD]. WingNut Films; The Saul Zaentz Company.

Note: If there is more than one production company, separate their names with a semi-colon (;).

In-Text Paraphrase

(Director Last Name, Year).

Example: (Jackson, 2001).

In-Text Citation

(Director Last Name, Year, Time Stamp).

Example: (Jackson, 2001, 1:23:46).

Note: Because videos typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, instead provide a time stamp for the beginning of the quotation.

Episode from a Television Series

Writer's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Writer), & Director's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Director). (Year the episode was originally aired, Month Day if known). Title of episode (Season Number, Episode Number) [TV series episode]. In Executive Producer's First Initial. Last Name (Executive Producer), Television series name. Production Company.

Note: Include the writer and director for the episode and put their job title in round brackets after their name. If one person did both jobs use (Writer & Director).

Cite the URL for the log-in page instead of the URL for the actual movie. Omit the URL if the TV episode was viewed on cable television rather than online.

Reference Entry

Oakley, B. K. (Writer), & Lynch, J. (Director). (2020, January 1). The Key (Season 6, Episode 5) [TV series episode]. In D. Mirkin, J. L. Brooks, & S. Simon (Executive Producers), Vikings. History.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Writer & Director Last Names, Year).

Example: (Oakley & Lynch, 2020).

In-Text Citation

(Writer & Director Last Names, Year, Time Stamp)

Example: (Oakley & Lynch, 2020, 17:53)

Note: Because videos typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, instead provide a time stamp for the beginning of the quotation.

Page or Section from a Website - Corporate or Group Author

Corporation/Group/Organization's Name. (Year webpage was last updated/published, Month Day if given). Title of page: Subtitle (if any). URL

Reference Entry

Canadian Cancer Society. (2013, April 14). Cancer research. http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/cancer-101/cancer-research/?region=on

In-Text Paraphrase

(Corporation/Group's Name, Year).

Example: (Canadian Cancer Society, 2013).

In-Text Citation

(Corporation/Group's Name, year, Section Name section, para. Paragraph Number if more than one paragraph in section)

Example: (Canadian Cancer Society, 2013, Behavioural research section, para. 2)

Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the paragraph number to identify where your quote came from.

Page or Section from a Website - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year webpage was last updated/published, Month Day if given). Title of page: Subtitle (if any). Website name. URL

Reference Entry

Kmec, J. (2012, March 13). Where’s the boss? And what counts as “work”? The Society Pages. https://thesocietypages.org/socimages/2012/03/13/wheres-the-boss-and-what-counts-as-work/

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author Last Name, Year).

Example: (Kmec, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author Last Name, Year, Section Name section, para. Paragraph Number if more than one paragraph in section).

Example: (Kmec, 2012, para. 1).

Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the paragraph number to identify where your quote came from.

Page or Section from a Website - Unknown Author

Title of page: Subtitle (if any). (Year webpage was last updated/published, Month Day if given). Name of Website. URL

Reference Entry

Timeline: Environmental movement (n.d.). The Canadian Encyclopedia. https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/timeline/environment

In-Text Paraphrase

(Shortened title, Year)

Example: (Timeline: Environmental, n.d)

In-Text Citation

(Shortened title, Year, Section Name section, para. Paragraph Number if more than one paragraph in section).

Example: (Timeline: Environmental, n.d, Canadian National Parks Act section).

Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph to identify where your quote came from. In this example, there is only one paragraph under the specific heading, so no paragraph number is needed.

Report or Document from Website - Corporate or Group Author

Corporation/Group/Organization's Name. (Year report was last updated/published, Month Day if given). Title of report: Subtitle if given (Pub. No. Publication Number if given). Website Name if different from author. URL

Reference Entry

College of Nurses of Ontario. (2009). Practice standard: Ethics (Pub. No. 41034). http://www.cno.org/docs/prac/41034_Ethics.pdf

Note: If there was a chapter or section number instead of a publication number, it would be included after the title in the same place as the publication number: (Chapter xx) or (Section xx).

In-Text Paraphrase

(Corporation/Group's Name, Year).

Example: (College of Nurses of Ontario, 2009).

In-Text Citation

(Corporation/Group's Name, Year, p. Page Number).

Example: (College of Nurses of Ontario, 2009, p. 4).

**Government Document from a Website**

Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee. (Year of Publication, Month Day). Title of document: Subtitle if given (edition if given and is not first edition). Publisher Name. URL
Reference Entry	Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services. (2010, April 27). Your preschool child's speech and language development. http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/topics/earlychildhood/ speechlanguage/brochure_preschool.aspx Note: When the government department, agency or committee that created the document is also the publisher, omit the publisher.
In-Text Paraphrase	(Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee, Year). Example: (Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services, 2010).
In-Text Direct Quote	(Name of Government Department, Agency or Committee, Year, Section Name section, para. Paragraph Number if more than one paragraph in section) Example: (Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services, 2010, By Age Five section, para. 4) Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from.

Blog Post

Author's Last Name, First intial. Second Initial if Given. or Username if real name not provided. (Year blog post was published, Month Day). Title of blog post. Title of Blog. URL

Reference Entry

Dobbs, D. (2012, June 13). Fun in cities: Feature, not bug. Wired Science. http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/ 2012/06/fun-in-cities-feature-not-bug/

Note: If the blog author's real name is not provided, use their username instead.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year).

Example: (Dobbs, 2012).

In-Text Citation

(Author's Last Name, Year, Section Heading section if given).

Example: (Dobbs, 2012, para. 2).

Note: This blog post has no section headings, so only a paragraph number is given in the citation.

APA In-Text Citation Chart

Number of Authors/Editors	First Time Paraphrased	Second and Subsequent Times Paraphrased	First Time Quoting	Second and Subsequent Times Quoting
Two	(Case & Daristotle, 2011)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011, p. 57)	(Case & Daristotle, 2011, p. 57)
Three to Five	(Case, Daristotle, Hayek, Smith, & Raash, 2011)	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case, Daristotle, Hayekm, Smith, & Raash, 2011, p. 57)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)
Six or More	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case et al., 2011)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)	(Case et al., 2011, p. 57)