DSC Library: Citation & Documentation: Works Cited

Helpful Information

Your MLA research essay ends with a list of all the sources cited in the text of your paper. This is called a Works Cited page.

Here are eight quick rules for this list:

Start a new page for your Works Cited list (e.g., if your paper is 4 pages long, start your Works Cited list on page 5).
Center the title, "Works Cited," at the top of the page and do not bold or underline it. Look for the alignment option in Word or Google Docs.
Double-space the list.
Start the first line of each citation at the left margin; each subsequent line should be indented (also known as a "hanging indent").
Put your list in alphabetical order. Alphabetize the list by the first word in the citation. In most cases, the first word will be the author’s last name. Where the author is unknown, alphabetize by the first word in the title, ignoring the words a, an, the.
For each author, give the last name followed by a comma and the first name followed by a period.
Italicize the titles of full works: books, audiovisual material,websites.
Do not italicize titles of parts of works, such as: articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals / essays, poems, short stories or chapter titles from a book / chapters or sections of an Internet document. Instead, use quotation marks.

How Do I Cite?

**Print Advertisements from a Magazine, Journal or Newspaper**

Title of Advertisement or Description of advertisement. *Name of Magazine, Journal or Newspaper Where*

*Advertisement Was* *Accessed*, Date, p. Page number of advertisement.
Works Cited	Louis Vuitton advertisement. Vogue, Dec. 2015, p. 5.
In-Text Citation	(Company That Owns the Product or Title of Advertisement). Example: (Louis Vuitton).

**Digital Advertisements from an Online Magazine, Journal, or Newspaper**

Title of Advertisement or Description of advertisement. *Name of Online Magazine, Journal or Newspaper Where*

*Advertisement Was* *Accessed*, Date, URL.
Works Cited	"Get the Best of The New Yorker." The New Yorker, 10 Jan. 2017, www.newyorker.com.
In-Text Citation	(Company That Owns the Product or Title of Advertisement). Example: ("Get the Best").

Example: "Get the Best of The New Yorker." The New Yorker, 10 Jan. 2017, www.newyorker.com. Pop-up ad.

**Book in Print - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.* Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher

Name often shortened, Year of publication.
Works Cited	Francke, Arthur E. Volusia: The West Side. Volusia Historical Society, 1986.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Francke 1).

**Book in Print - Two Authors**

Last Name, First Name of First Author, and First Name Last Name of Second Author. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.*

Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication.
Works Cited	Dorris, Michael and Louise Edrich. The Crown of Columbus. Harper Collins Publishers, 1999.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name and Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Doris and Edrich 34).

Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.

**Book in Print - Three or More Authors**

Last Name, First Name of First Author, et al. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.* Edition if given and is not first edition,

Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication.
Works Cited	Charon, Rita, et al. The Principles and Practice of Narrative Medicine. Oxford UP, 2017.
In-Text Citation	(First Author's Last Name et al. Page Number). Example: (Rita et al. 5).

Note: If there are three or more authors list only the first author's name followed by et al. (which means "and others") instead of listing all authors' names. The first author is the first name listed on the work you are citing, not the first name alphabetically.

**Book in Print - Group or Corporate Author**

Name of Corporate Author. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.* Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name

often shortened, Year of Publication.
Works Cited	Calgary Educational Partnership Foundation. Employability Skills: Creating My Future. Nelson, 1996.
In-Text Citation	(Name of corporate author Page number). Example: (Calgary Educational Partnership Foundation).

Note: When the organization that published the work is also the corporate author of the work, begin the entry with the title, skipping the author element, and list the organization only as publisher. If the corporate author is a division of a larger organization, the division is the author and the organization is the publisher.

**Ebook From a Library Database - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.* Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher

Name often shortened, Year of publication. *Name of Library Database*.
Works Cited	Foley, Barbara. Marxist Literary Criticism Today. Pluto Press, 2019. EBSCOhost.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Foley 67).

**Ebook From a Library Database - Two Authors**

Last Name of First Author, First Name, and First Name Last Name of Second Author. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.*

Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication. *Name of Library Database.*
Works Cited	Foster, Lois E., and David Stockley. Multiculturalism: The Changing Australian Paradigm. Multilingual Matters, 1984. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name and Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Foster and Stockley 22).

Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.

**Ebook From a Library Database - Three or More Authors**

Last Name of First Author, First Name, et al. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.* Edition if given and is not first edition,

Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication. *Name of Library Database.*
Works Cited	Ziarek, Ewa Plonowska, et al. A Time for the Humanities: Futurity and the Limits of Autonomy. Fordham UP, 2008. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
In-Text Citation	(First Author's Last Name et al. Page Number). Example: (Ziarek et al. 75).

**Open Textbook (Free Online Textbook)**

Author's Last Name, First Name. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.* Edition if given and is not first edition, Publisher name

if different from website name, Year of Publication. *Website Name*, URL if no DOI is provided. File type.
Works Cited	Belshaw, John Douglas. Canadian History: Pre-Confederation. 2015. BCcampus, https://opentextbc.ca/preconfederation/. Kindle.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Chapter Number or Page Number of PDF). Example: (Belshaw ch. 2). Note: Page numbers in re-sizeable formats like Kindle and ePUB cannot be used because they will vary from user to user. Instead, use the chapter number to cite in-text. By contrast, PDF versions have stable page numbers that can be used to cite in-text.

Note: When the landing page provides a choice of formats (such as PDF or EPUB), include the file type at the end of the citation (in case there are slight differences between versions). If you use the default format of the book, omit this element. In most cases, a URL should be provided. However, if there is a DOI, use it instead (because it is the most stable link to the book), beginning with https://doi.org.

**A Book Prepared by an Editor**

Author's Last Name, First Name. *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any,* edited by Editor's First Name and Last Name,

Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication.
Works Cited	Austen, Jane. Emma, edited by James Kinsley, Oxford UP, 2008.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Austen 152).

**Chapter, Short Story, or Essay from a Book (Edited Anthology or Collection)**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter, Short Story, or Essay." *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any,*

edited by Editor's First Name and Last Name, Edition if given and is not first, Publisher Name often

shortened, Year of publication, Page numbers of the chapter, short story, or essay.
Works Cited	Ross, Colin. "The Story of Grey Owl." Fiction/Non-Fiction: A Reader and Rhetoric, edited by Garry Engkent and Lucia Engkent, 2nd ed., Thomson Nelson, 2006, pp. 327-333.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Ross 332).

Note: The author listed at the beginning of the citation is the author of the chapter, short story, or essay.

**Book with Editor(s) but No Author**

Last Name of editor, First Name, editor(s). *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any.* Edition if given and is

not first edition, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of Publication.
Works Cited	Matuz, Roger, editor. Contemporary Canadian Artists. Gale Canada, 1997
In-Text Citation	(Last name page number) Example: (Matuz 35)

**Book Review - No Title**

Author's Last Name, First Name. Review of *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any*, by Book Author's First Name Last

Name. *Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page

Number-Last Page Number. *Name of Database*. https://doi.org/DOI Number if Given.
Works Cited	Khovanova, Tanya. Review of Love and Math: The Heart of Hidden Reality, by Edward Frenkel. The College Mathematics Journal, vol. 45, no. 3, May 2014, pp. 230-231. JSTOR. https://doi.org/10.4169/ college.math.j.45.3.230.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Khovanova 230).

Note: If the book review is from a source other than an article in the library's database, view the appropriate section on the MLA guide to determine how to cite the source after the name of the book's author.

**Book Review - Title Refers to Book being Reviewed**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Review." *Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number,

Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. *Name of Database*.

https://doi.org/DOI Number if Given.
Works Cited	Grosholz, Emily R. "Book Review: Realizing Reason: A Narrative of Truth and Knowledge by Danielle Macbeth." Journal of Humanistic Mathematics, vol. 7, no. 1, Jan. 2017, pp. 263-275, Academic Search Complete. https://doi.org/10.5642/jhummath.20170120.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Grosholz 268).

Note: If the book review is from a source other than an article in the library's database, view the appropriate section on the MLA guide to determine how to cite the source.

**Book Review - Title Doesn't Refer to Book being Reviewed**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Review." Review of *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any,* by Book Author's

First Name Last Name. *Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp.

First Page Number-Last Page Number. *Name of Database*. https://doi.org/DOI Number if Given.
Works Cited	Rodriques, Elias. "Lonesome for our Home." Review of Barraccon: The Story of the Last "Black Cargo," by Zora Neale Hurston. Nation, vol. 306, no. 18, 18 June 2018, pp. 35-39. MAS Ultra - School Edition.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Rodrigues 37).

Note: If the book review is from a source other than an article in the library's database, view the appropriate section on the MLA guide to determine how to cite the source.

ChatGPT

“Title of the Prompt You Inserted in Chat Box” title of source provided by chat box. ChatGPT, 13 Feb. version, OpenAI,

9 Mar. 2023, chat.openai.com/chat.


Works Cited	“In 200 words, describe the symbolism of the green light in The Great Gatsby” follow-up prompt to list sources. ChatGPT, 13 Feb. version, OpenAI, 9 Mar. 2023, chat.openai.com/chat.
Paraphrased in your prose	While the green light in The Great Gatsby might be said to chiefly symbolize four main things: optimism, the unattainability of the American dream, greed, and covetousness (“Describe the symbolism”), arguably the most important—the one that ties all four themes together—is greed.
In-Text Citation	(First three or so words of your prompt in quotations). Example: ("Describe the symbolism").

Using the MLA Template with ChatGPT

Author

The Modern Language Association does not recommend treating the AI tool as an author. This recommendation follows the policies developed by various publishers, including the MLA’s journal PMLA.

Title of Source

Describe what was generated by the AI tool. This may involve including information about the prompt in the Title of Source element if you have not done so in the text.

Title of Container

Use the Title of Container element to name the AI tool (e.g., ChatGPT).

Version

Name the version of the AI tool as specifically as possible. For example, the examples in this post were developed using ChatGPT 3.5, which assigns a specific date to the version, so the Version element shows this version date.

Publisher

Name the company that made the tool.

Date

Give the date the content was generated.

Location

Give the general URL for the tool.

**Instructor's Presentation Slides (e.g. PowerPoint)**

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of PowerPoint Presentation." Title of Course, Date of PowerPoint

presentation, University Name. Microsoft PowerPoint presentation.
Works Cited	Dunaway, Billie Jo. "How to Format an MLA Style Essay." Introduction to Composition, 28 Aug. 2023, Daytona State College. Microsoft Powerpoint Presentation
In-Text Citation	(Instructor's Last Name). Example: (Dunaway, slide 4).

Note: if you know the slide number, include it in your in-text citation. If not, leave it out.

**Class Lecture (Heard in Person)**

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. Lecture. Title of Course, Date of lecture, University Name.
Works Cited	Dunaway, Billie Jo. "How to Format an MLA Style Essay." Introduction to Composition, 28 Aug. 2023, Daytona State College.
In-Text Citation	(Instructor's Last Name). Example: (Dunaway).

**Instructor's Notes or Handouts Provided in Class**

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Handouts/Notes." Name of Course, University Name.

Date handout was received. Course handout.
Works Cited	Dunaway, Billie Jo. "Notes on MLA 9th Edition." Introduction to Composition, Daytona State College. 28 Aug. 2023. Course handout.
In-Text Citation	(Instructor's Last Name). Example: (Dunaway).

**Government Document from a Website - Author and Publisher are Different**

Author. *Title of Document: Subtitle if Given*. Edition if given and is not first edition, Name of Government

Primary Agency, Publication Date, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Select Standing Committee on Children and Youth. Children and Youth with Neuro-Diverse Special Needs. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, Oct. 2019, https:// www.leg.bc.ca/content/CommitteeDocuments/41st-parliament/4th-session/c ay/Report_SSC-CY_41-4-1_Neuro-Diverse-Special-Needs.pdf. Accessed 8 Aug. 2023.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Select Standing Committee 14).

Note: In MLA 9th ed., citations of government documents have been simplified for student papers. For student papers citing a small number of government documents, the MLA Handbook recommends treating government documents "just like any other source written by an organization" by "record[ing] the name as presented by the source" (120). For advanced projects where many government documents are cited, more detailed recommendations can be found in the MLA Handbook and in some online guides. You may see specialists follow these rules in order to provide complete information about the government, department, and agency and to standardize Works Cited entries.

**Government Document from a Website - Author and Publisher are the Same**

*Title of Document: Subtitle if Given*. Edition if given and is not first edition, Name of Government Primary Agency,

Publication Date, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Highlights from the Competition Bureau’s Workshop on Emerging Competition Issues. Competition Bureau of Canada, 4 Mar. 2016, www.competitionbureau.gc.ca/eic/site/cb-bc.nsf/vwapj/cb -Workshop-Summary-Report-e.pdf/$FILE/cb-Workshop-Summary-Report-e.pdf. Accessed 8 Aug. 2023.
In-Text Citation	(Shortened Title of Document Page number). Example: (Highlights 4).

Note: You can use a shortened form of the title by listing the first word or words of the full title.

**Government Document in Print**

*Title of Document: Subtitle if Given*. Edition if given and is not first edition, Name of Government Primary Agency,

Publication Date.
Works Cited	Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report. 7th ed., Statistics Canada, 2015.
In-Text Citation	(Shortened Title of Document Page number). Example: (Women in Canada 4).

Note: You can use a shortened form of the title by listing the first word or words of the full title.

General Notes for Citing Images, Charts, Graphs, etc.

Please note, if you refer to information from a photo, image, chart, graph, or table but do not reproduce it in your paper, your in-text and Works Cited citations will be for the source it came from.

Examples:

If you refer to information from a table in an article in National Geographic magazine, you would cite the entire magazine article.

If you refer to a photo that is posted on a webpage, you would cite the entire webpage.

Figure Examples

Note: If you have more than one figure in your assignment, label your figures starting at 1.

If you do not refer to it anywhere else in your assignment, you do not have to include the citation for this source in a Works Cited list.

Figure 1 Example:

Black and white male figure exercising

Fig. 1. Man exercising from: Green, Annie. "Yoga: Stretching Out." Sports Digest, 8 May 2006, p. 22.

Figure 2 Example:

Yellow printed skirt by designer Annakiki. Faces on skirt.

Fig. 2. Annakiki skirt from: Cheung, Pauline. "Short Skirt S/S/ 15 China Womenswear Commercial Update." WGSN.

Table Examples

If you insert a table from another source into your assignment, you must create a caption for it directly below the table. Above the table, add a label (Table X) and below this add a description of what information is contained in the table.

The caption follows this format:

Source: Citation for source table was found in (e.g. a website, a journal article).

Note: If you have more than one table in your assignment, label your tables starting at 1.

If you do not refer to the table anywhere else in your assignment, you do not need to include the citation for this source in the Works Cited list.

Example:

Table 1

Variables in determining victims and aggressors

Table from a journal listing variables in determining victims and aggressors

Source: Mohr, Andrea. "Family Variables Associated With Peer Victimization." Swiss Journal of Psychology, vol. 65, no. 2, 2006, pp. 107-116, Psychology Collection, https://doi.org/10.1024/1421-0185.65.2.107.

Artwork from a Book

When you refer to a photographic reproduction of an artwork, the citation is made up of two parts:

Part 1: Lists the original artist's name, the name of the work, and the date the work was created.
Part 2: Cites where you found the reproduction of the work such as a book. The example below is for an image taken from a book with a single author.

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle if Any. Year, Location of Work. Book Title, by Author's Last Name, First Name, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication, p. number.

Works Cited List Example

Da Vinci, Leonardo. Last Supper. 1498, Santa Maria della Grazie, Milan. Great Paintings of the Western World, by Gallup, Alison, et al., Barnes & Noble, 1998, p. 223.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Da Vinci 223)

Artwork from an Online Source

When you refer to a photographic reproduction of an artwork, the citation is made up of two parts:

Part 1: Lists the original artist's name, the name of the work, and the date the work was created.
Part 2: Cites where you found the reproduction of the work such as a website. The example below is for an image taken from a webpage written by two authors. For more information on how to cite websites, look at the How do I Cite: Websites section of this site.

If you refer to the information from the artwork but do not reproduce it in your paper, create a citation both in-text and on your Works Cited list.

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle if Any. Year, Location of Work. "Title of Webpage," by Author's First Name Last Name. Title of Website, Publisher or Sponsoring Organization, Date of publication or last modified date, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.

Note: Date of access is optional in MLA 9th edition. If no publication date is included, we recommend including the date you last accessed the site.

Works Cited List Example

Da Vinci, Leonardo. Last Supper. 1498, Santa Maria della Grazie, Milan. "The Last Supper," by Beth Harris and Steven Zucker, Khan Academy, 2015, www.khanacademy.org/humanities/ap-art-history/early-europe-and-colonial-americas/renaissance-art-europe-ap/a/leonardo-last-supper. Accessed 14 July 2018.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name)

Example: (Da Vinci)

If you place the artwork in your paper, you must label the figure. The caption should be the Works Cited list citation for the source the figure was found in. For example, if it was found on a website, cite the website.

Label your figures starting at 1.
Information about the figure (the caption) is placed directly below the image in your assignment.

Example:

Yellow printed skirt by designer Annakiki. Faces on skirt.

Fig. 1. Da Vinci, Leonardo. Last Supper. 1498, Santa Maria della Grazie, Milan. "The Last Supper," by Harris, Beth and Steven Zucker, Khan Academy, 2015, www.khanacademy.org/humanities/ap-art-history/early-europe-and-colonial-americas/renaissance-art-europe-ap/a/leonardo-last-supper. Accessed 14 Aug. 2023.

*Information courtesy of Columbia College LibGuides.

**Interview - In Person**

Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, First Name. Interview. By Interviewer First Name

Last Name, Day Month Year of interview.
Works Cited	Smith, Sarah. Interview. By Avery Marx, 12 Mar. 2023.
In-Text Citation	(Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed). Example: (Smith).

Note: If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation.

For example: Smith explained that "peer mentorship in higher education is beneficial because it provides more opportunities for support."

**Interview - Via Email**

Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, First Name. "Subject Line of Email." Received by Name

of Person Who Received Email, Day Month Year of Email. Email Interview.
Works Cited	Smith, Paula. "Re: Food and Family." Received by Jo Marx, 20 Aug. 2023. Email Interview.
In-Text Citation	(Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed). Example: (Smith).

Note: The words "Email Interview" are added to the citation to specify that it is an interview.

If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation.

For example: Smith asserted that food builds relationships because of a cultural appreciation inherent in enjoying a meal with family.

**Interview - Via Telephone**

Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, First Name. Interview. Day Month Year of interview. By

Interviewer First Name Last Name. Telephone Interview.
Works Cited	Smith, William. Interview. By Lisa Marx. 30 Jan. 2023. Telephone Interview.
In-Text Citation	(Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed). Example: (Smith).

Note: The words "Telephone Interview" are added to the citation to specify that it is an interview.

If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation.

For example: Smith asserted that "infections are often contracted while patients are recovering in the hospital."

**Journal Article From Library Database With a DOI Number - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."*Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number,

no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number.

*Name of Database,* https://doi.org/DOI number.
Works Cited	Guillen, Jorge. "Does Financial Openness Matter in the Relationship Between Financial Development and Income Distribution in Latin America?" Emerging Markets Finance & Trade, vol. 52, no. 5, 2016, pp. 1145-1155. Business Source Complete, https: doi.org/10.1080/1540496X.2015.1046337.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Guillen 1146).

**Journal Article From Library Database With a DOI Number - Two Authors**

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."

*Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page

Number-Last Page Number. *Name of Database,* https://doi.org/DOI number.
Works Cited	Salafia, Elizabeth Blodgett, and Jessica Lemer. "Associations Between Multiple Types of Stress and Disordered Eating Among Girls and Boys in Middle School." Journal of Child and Family Studies, vol. 21, no. 1, 2012, pp.148-57. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.1007/s10826-011-9458-z.
In-Text Citation	(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Salafia and Lemer 149).

Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.

**Journal Article From Library Database Without a DOI Number - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number,

no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number.

*Name of Database.*
Works Cited	Leichty, Toni. "Yes I Worry About My Weight... But for the Most Part I'm Content with My Body: Older Women's Body Dissatisfaction Alongside Contentment." Journal of Women & Aging, vol. 24, no. 1, 2012, pp. 70-88. Academic Search Complete.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Leichty 71).

Note: While MLA 9th edition recommends including URLs, Columbia College Library recommends that URLs be left out when citing a work found in a library database. This is because most URLs from library databases will stop working after the session ends. If your instructor requires a URL, look for the "Permalink" icon in the article description and place the URL generated after the name of the database.

**Journal Article From Library Database Without a DOI Number - Two Authors**

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."

*Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page

Number-Last Page Number. *Name of Database.*
Works Cited	Larr, Allison S., and Matthew Neidell. "Pollution and Climate Change." The Future of Children, vol. 26, no. 1, Spring 2016, pp. 93-113. Academic Search Complete. Note: Give as complete a date of publication as given. Because the season for the journal, "Spring" is given, this is included as part of the date.
In-Text Citation	(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Larr and Neidell 96).

Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.

**Journal Article From a Website - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number,

no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number if Given,

URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Elson, Peter. "A Comparative Analysis of Nonprofit Policy Network Governance in Canada." Canadian Journal of Nonprofit and Social Economy Research, vol. 6, no. 2, 2015, pp. 42-64, anserj.ca/anser/ index.php/cjnser/article /view/201/127. Accessed 14 Aug. 2023. Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. In this example only the year was given.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Elson 44).

Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.

**Journal Article From a Website - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number,

no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number if Given,

URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Elson, Peter. "A Comparative Analysis of Nonprofit Policy Network Governance in Canada." Canadian Journal of Nonprofit and Social Economy Research, vol. 6, no. 2, 2015, pp. 42-64, anserj.ca/anser/ index.php/cjnser/article/view /201/127. Accessed 14 Aug. 2023. Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. In this example only the year was given.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Elson 44).

**Journal Article From a Website - Two Authors**

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."

*Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page

Number-Last Page Number if Given, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Sadig, Husam, and Ahmed Banany. "The Impact of Non-Response Weighting: Empirical Evidence From Modelling Residential Mobility." Journal of Social Research & Policy, vol. 5, no. 1, July 2014, pp. 91-99, www.jsrp.ro/site/jrspone/content/JSRP_ Vol5_Iss1_Sadig. Accessed 27 Jun. 2016. Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. Both month and year were provided for this example.
In-Text Citation	(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Sadig and Banany 91).

**Journal Article in Print - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number,

no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number.
Works Cited	Kushkova, Anna. "At the Center of the Table." Russian Studies in History, vol. 50, no.1, 2011, pp. 44-96. Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. In this example only the year was given.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Kushkova 79).

**Journal Article in Print - Two Authors**

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."

*Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication,

pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number.

**Note:** Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.
Works Cited	Ki, Eyun-Jung, and Linda Childers Hon. "A Measure of Relationship Cultivation Strategies." Journal of Public Relations Research, vol. 21, no. 1, 2009, pp. 1-24. Note: Give as complete a date as is provided. In this example only the year was given.
In-Text Citation	(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Ki and Hon 12).

Citing Three or More Authors

Note: If there are three or more authors, cite only the name of the first author listed with their Last Name, First Name Middle Name followed by a comma et al.

Example: Smith, James, et al.

How Do I Know if my Source is a Journal Article?

Look for these characteristics:

Main purpose is often to report results of original search
Articles usually have a very specific subject focus
May see sections such as abstract, discussion, results, and conclusion
Author of the article is an expert or specialist in the field and often their credentials are listed
Article is intended for students, scientists, researchers and/or professionals instead of the general public
Usually includes a References list at the end

**Magazine Article from a Library Database - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Title of Magazine,* vol. Volume Number,

no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. Page Numbers. *Name of Database.*
Works Cited	Weinstein, Becca. "Trying Before Buying." Psychology Today, vol. 45, no. 3, May-June 2012, pp. 46-47. CINAHL Complete.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Weinstein 46).

**Magazine Article from a Library Database - Two Authors**

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."

*Title of Magazine,* vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. Page Numbers.

*Name of Database.*

Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.
Works Cited	Jefferson, David J., and Temma Ehrenfeld. "The Divorce Generation Grows Up." Newsweek, vol. 151, no. 16, 21 Apr. 2008, p.46. MAS Ultra.
In-Text Citation	(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Jefferson and Ehrenfeld 46).

**Magazine Article from a Library Database - Unknown Author**

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Title of Magazine,* vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication,

pp. Page Numbers. *Name of* *Database.*

**Note:** If the author is unknown, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Works Cited	"Convenience Store Shopping Behavior: Packaged Beverages." Convenience Store News, vol. 36, no. 15, 18 Dec. 2000, p. 113. Business Source Complete.
In-Text Citation	("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number). Example: ("Convenience Store Shopping" 113). Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks.

**Magazine Article from a Website**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Title of Magazine,* Date of publication,

URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Cosh, Kolby. "Tiny Human Brains Threaten Giant Dinosaur Bones in Alberta." Maclean's, 25 July 2012, www.macleans.ca/news/canada/a-blight-at-the-museum. Accessed 14 Aug. 2023.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name). Example: (Cosh).

Note: If the magazine article has two authors, follow the same author format as shown in the sections on Magazine Articles with Two Authors: (i.e. Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name)

**Magazine Article in Print - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Title of Magazine,* vol. Volume Number,

no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. Page Numbers.
Works Cited	Campbell, Meagan. "'One Snap, One Frame': A Life in Pictures." Maclean's, vol. 129, no. 26, 04 July 2016, pp. 47-51.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Campbell 49).

**Magazine Article from Print - Two Authors**

Author's Last Name, First Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."

*Title of Magazine,* vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. Page Numbers.

Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.
Works Cited	Ainsworth-Vincze, Cameron, and Josh Dehass. "Where Do I Belong?" Maclean's, vol. 123, no. 45, 22 Nov. 2010, pp. 58-59.
In-Text Citation	(First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Ainsworth-Vincze and Dehass 58).

**Magazine Article from Print - Unknown Author**

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Title of Magazine,* vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication,

pp. Page Numbers.

Note: Only the first author's name appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. The second author's name appears in "First Name Last Name" format.
Works Cited	"When Eating Breakfast, Make it a Big One." Maclean's, vol. 121, no. 26/27, 7 July 2008, p. 63.
In-Text Citation	("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number) Example: ("When Eating Breakfast" 63) Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks.

**Newspaper Article from a Library Database - One Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Name of Newspaper* [city of newspaper if

local paper with city name not in name], Date of Publication, p. Page Number if given.

*Name of Database.*

**Note:** If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Works Cited	Schmidt, Sarah. "Companies Fail the Test; Junk Food Marketing Aimed at Kids Faulted." The Gazette [Montreal], 10 Mar. 2010, p. A.11. Canadian Newsstand. Note: If an article ends with a question mark or exclamation mark (!), you do not need to add a period to mark the end of the title.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Schmidt A11). Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation. Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("Companies").

**Newspaper Article from a Library Database - Newspaper with Volumes and Issues**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Name of Newspaper* [City of newspaper

if local paper with city name not in name of newspaper], vol. Volume Number, no. Issues Number,

Date of Publication, p. Page Number if given. *Name of Database.*

**Note:** If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Works Cited	Crawford, Maxine. "Research in a Celtic Nation." Psynopsis: Canada's Psychology Newspaper, vol. 39, no. 3, Summer 2017, p. 32. Canadian Points of View Reference Centre. Note: If an article ends with a question mark or exclamation mark (!), you do not need to add a period to mark the end of the title.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Crawford). Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation. Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("Psynopsis").

**Newspaper Article from a Website**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Title of Website,* Date of Publication,

URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.

**Note:** If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Works Cited	Morrison, Malcolm. "TSX Recovers on Greece News." Toronto Star, 23 June 2011, www.thestar.com/business/economy/2011/06/23/tsx_recovers_on_greece _news.html. Accessed 16 Aug. 2016. Note: This entry has no page numbers, so this information is left out of the citation.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Morrison). Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation. Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("TSX Recovers").

**Newspaper Article in Print**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." *Name of Newspaper,* Date of Publication,

p. Page Number.

**Note:** If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.
Works Cited	Smith, Bill. "Talks on Bosnia Bog Down Over Borders." Toronto Star, 18 Aug. 2012, p. B6. Note: This entry has no page numbers, so this information is left out of the citation.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name Page Number). Example: (Smith B6). Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation. Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("Talks").

**Poetry from an Edited Collection**

Author of Poem's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Poem." *Title of Book: Subtitle if Any*, edited by Editor's First Name

Last Name, Edition if given and is not first, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of Publication,

pp. Page Numbers of the Poem.
Works Cited	Donne, John. "A Valediction: Forbidding Mourning." The Broadview Introduction to Literature: Poetry, edited by Lisa Chalykoff, Neta Gordon, and Paul Lumsden, Broadview Press, 2013, pp. 48-49.
In-Text Citation	(Author of Poem's Last Name, line(s) Line Number(s)). Example: (Donne, lines 26-28). Note:If your quotation contains more than one line from the poem use forward slashes (/) between each line of the poem. For line breaks that occur between stanzas, use a double forward slash (//). Example Using scientific imagery, Donne describes his connection to his wife, "As stiff compasses are two: /Thy soul, the fixed foot, makes no show / To move, but both, if th' other do" (lines 26-28). Note: If citing more than 3 lines, follow the rules for a long quotation.

**Poetry from a Website**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Poem." Title of Website, Name of Organization Affiliated with the Website,

Date of copyright or date last modified/updated, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Keats, John. "On the Grasshopper and Cricket." Poetry Foundation, 2020, https://www.poetry foundation.org/poems/53210/on-the-grasshopper-and-cricket. Accessed 16 Aug. 2023.
In-Text Citation	(Author of Poem's Last Name, line(s) Line Number(s)). Example: (Keats, lines 10-12). Note:If your quotation contains more than one line from the poem use forward slashes (/) between each line of the poem. For line breaks that occur between stanzas, use a double forward slash (//). Example Keats uses insects to represent the everlasting vitality of nature, "On a lone winter evening, when the frost / Has wrought a silence, from the stove there shrills / The Cricket’s song, in warmth increasing ever" (lines 10-12). Note: If citing more than 3 lines, follow the rules for a long quotation.

**Poetry from a Journal**

Poem Author(s). "Title of Poem." *Name of Journal*, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Publication Date,

pp. Article Page Numbers. *Name of* *Database*, https://doi.org/DOI [if from library database].
Works Cited	Sharkey, Lee. "Thistle." About Place Journal, vol. 5, no. 2, Oct. 2018.
In-Text Citation	(Author of Poem's Last Name, line(s) Line Number(s)). Example: (Keats, lines 10-12). Note:If your quotation contains more than one line from the poem use forward slashes (/) between each line of the poem. For line breaks that occur between stanzas, use a double forward slash (//). Example Keats uses insects to represent the everlasting vitality of nature, "On a lone winter evening, when the frost / Has wrought a silence, from the stove there shrills / The Cricket’s song, in warmth increasing ever" (lines 10-12). Note: If citing more than 3 lines, follow the rules for a long quotation.

**In-Text Citations for Poems**
Information included in poem	In-Text Citation Example
Poem includes line numbers	(Author of Poem's Last Name, line(s) Line Number(s)) Example: (Blake, lines 6-9)
Poem doesn't include line numbers	(Author of Poem's Last Name) Example: (Chaucer)
Poem includes divisions (acts, scenes, cantos, books, parts) and line numbers	(Author of Poem's Last Name Division Number. Line Number(s)) Example: (Pope 5.645-646) Note: 5.645-646 refers to canto 5, lines 645-646

Learn more: See the MLA Handbook, pp. 121-122

**Bible/Qur'an/Talmud, etc. (All Scripture)**

*Title.* Editor statement, First Name Last Name of Editor, Publisher, Year of publication.
Works Cited	The New Jerusalem Bible. General editor, Henry Wansbrough, Doubleday, 1985.
In-Text Citation	(New Jerusalem Bible 1 Chron. 21.8) Note: The titles of books of scripture are often abbreviated for the in-text citation. For a full list of abbreviations, consult Appendix 1 of the MLA Handbook.
Works Cited	The Bible. Introd. and notes by Robert Carroll and Stephen Prickett, Oxford UP, 1998. Oxford World's Classics. Authorized King James Vers. Note: If the edition is based on a named version of the text, the name of the version can be recorded at the end of the entry, as "Authorized King James Vers" is above.
In-Text Citation	(The Bible Rev. 21.3) Note: The titles of books of scripture are often abbreviated for the in-text citation.For a full list of abbreviations, consult Appendix 1 of the MLA Handbook.
Works Cited	The Qur'an. Trans. by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem, Oxford UP, 2005.
In-Text Citation	(The Qur'an Joseph 12:69) Note: The titles of books of scripture are often abbreviated for the in-text citation. For a full list of abbreviations, consult Appendix 1 of the MLA Handbook.

**Blog Post**

Author's Last Name, First Name or Username if real name not provided. "Title of Blog Post." *Name of Blog,*

Blog Network/Publisher if given, Day Month Year of blog post, URL of blog post.

Accessed Day Month Year blog was visited.
Works Cited	Meinholz, Greg. "In Jordan Love We Trust." Packers Talk Blog, 12 May 2023, packerstalk.com/2023/05/12/in-jordan-love-we-trust/. Accessed 15 June 2023.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name) Example: (Meinholz). Note: Blog posts have no page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings so this information is left out of the in-text citation.

**Podcast Episode**

Host's Last Name, First Name, host(s). "Title of Podcast Episode." *Title of Overall Podcast*,

Season Number if given, Episode Number if given, Web Site Hosting if Different

From Podcast Title, Day Month Year of Episode, URL of Episode.

Accessed Day Month Year podcast was downloaded/played.
Works Cited	Orton, Tyler, and Patrick Blennerhassett, hosts. "Lessons From the Brexit." BIV Podcast, episode 18, Business Vancouver, 28 June 2016, www.biv.com/article/2016/6/ biv-podcast-episode-18-lessons-brexit/. Accessed 16 Aug. 2023.
In-Text Citation	(Host's Last Name Start Time of Revelant Section-End Time of Section). Example: (Orton and Blennerhassett 01:15-02:22).

**Streaming Video from a Website (YouTube, Vimeo, etc.)**

Last Name, First Name of video creator or Username of Creator. "Title of Video." *Title of the Hosting Website*,

uploaded by Username, Day Month Year of Publication, URL of video.

Accessed Day Month Year video was viewed.
Works Cited	Sethi, Ramit. "How to Write a Winning Resume, With Ramit Sethi." YouTube, uploaded by I Will Teach You to Be Rich, 23 June 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ 0fjkKCsM1w. Accessed 16 Aug. 2023. Note: If the video creator is unknown, begin the citation with the title of the video.
In-Text Citation	If video creator is known: (Last Name of Video Creator Start Time of Revelant Section-End Time of Section) (Sethi 00:03:30-00:04:16) If video creator is unknown: ("Words from Title" Start Time of Revelant Section-End Time of Section) ("Secrets of Drawing" 02:40-03:25) Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player.

For more information on citing videos found online, check out the MLA website.

**Twitter (Tweets)**

Screen Name [@handle]. "The entire tweet word-for-word." *Twitter*, Day Month Year of Tweet, Time of Tweet, URL.
Works Cited	Sohaib Athar [@ReallyVirtual]. "Helicopter hovering above Abbottad at 1AM is a rare event." T witter, 4 Jan. 2013, 3:58 p.m., twitter.com/reallyvirtual/status/ 64780730286358528?lang=en.
In-Text Citation	(Screen Name). Example: (Sohaib Athar).

**Facebook**

Author Last Name, First Name or Account Name. Description of Post. *Facebook*, Day Month Year of Post, Time of Post, URL.

Accessed Day Month Year post was viewed.
Works Cited	Rick Mercer Report. Spread the Net Challenge Winners 2016. Facebook, 23 Mar. 2016, 9:00 a.m., www.facebook.com/rickmercerreport. Accessed 26 June 2016. Note: As Facebook posts can be lengthy, describe the post instead of reposting its content. To find the time of a Facebook post, hover your mouse next to the date of the post over the clock icon. It may not be possible to link directly to the specific post itself.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name or Account Name). Example: (Rick Mercer Report).

**Streaming Video From a Social Media Website (YouTube, Vimeo, TikTok, etc.)**

Last Name, First Name of video creator or Username of Creator. "Title of Video." *Title of the Hosting Website*,

uploaded by Username, Day Month Year of Publication, URL of video.

Accessed Day Month Year video was viewed.
Works Cited	Sethi, Ramit. "How to Write a Winning Resume, With Ramit Sethi." YouTube, uploaded by I Will Teach You to Be Rich, 23 June 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0fjkKCsM1w. Accessed 28 June 2016. "Free Mental Health Support Available." YouTube, uploaded by ProvinceofBC, 15 Dec. 2020, https://youtu.be/K8qo-e9Jexc. Accessed 16 Aug. 2023. Note: If the video creator is unknown, such as when a video is produced by an organization, begin the citation with the title of the video.
In-Text Citation	If video creator is known: (Last Name of Video Creator Start Time of Revelant Section-End Time of Section) Example: (Sethi 00:03:30-00:04:16) If video creator is unknown: ("Words from Title" Start Time of Revelant Section-End Time of Section) Example: ("Free Mental Health" 00:05-00:10) Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

**Streaming Video From a Library Database (Criterion, Kanopy, NFB Education, etc.)**

*Title of Video*. Contributor(s), Publisher/Production Company, Date. *Title of Library Database*.

**Note:** Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.
Works Cited
In-Text Citation	(Words From Title Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section) Example: (Ready 02:05:01-02:06:12) Note: The title of the film is in italics in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List. Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

**Film or DVD**

*Title of Movie.* Contributor(s). Publisher/Production Company, Year of Release.

**Note:** Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.
Works Cited	Shrek. Directed by Andrew Adamson and Vicky Jenson, performances by Mike Myers, Eddie Murphy, Cameron Diaz, John Lithgow, and Vincent Cassel. DreamWorks Pictures. 2001.
In-Text Citation	(Title of Movie Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section) Example: (Shrek 45:13-55:03) Note: The title of the film is in italics in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List Example. Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

**Film from a Streaming Service (Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, HBO, etc.)**

*Title of Movie.* Contributor(s). Publisher/Production Company, Year of Release. *Name of Streaming Service*.

**Note:** Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.
Works Cited	Coraline. Directed by Henry Selick, screenplay by Henry Selick and Neil Gaiman, Laika, 2009. Netflix.
In-Text Citation	(Title of Movie Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section) Example: (Coraline 1:25:15-01:40:05) Note: The title of the film is in italics in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List Example. Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

**Episode of a Television Series from a Streaming Service (Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, HBO, etc.)**

"Title of Episode." *Title of TV Series,* Contributors Name(s), season, episode, Production Company, Year of Release. Name of Streaming Website, URL.

**Note:** Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.

**Note**: Seasons of a television series are usually numbered in sequence, as are the episodes. Both numbers should be included in the works cited list. If the episode is untitled, omit this element and begin the citation with the title of the show.
Works Cited	"The One Where Chandler Can't Cry." Friends, created by Marta Kauffman, performance by Matthew Perry, season 6, episode 14, Warner Brothers, 2004. HBO Max, www.hbomax.com.
In-Text Citation	("Title of Episode" Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section) Example: ("The One Where Chandler" 14:56-15:33) Note: The title of the episode is in quotation marks in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List Example. Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

**Website - Known Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. *Title of Website,* Name of Organization Affiliated with the Website, date of

copyright or date last modified/updated if available, URL.

Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Kenworthy, Lane. The Good Society, lanekenworthy.net. Accessed 14 Aug. 2023
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name). Example: (Kenworthy).

**Page or Document on a Website - Created by a Corporation, Group, or Organization**

Name of Corporation//Group/Organization. "Title of Section." *Title of Website,* Publisher or Sponsoring Organization,

Date of publication or last modified date, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.

**Note:** When the page is authored and published by the same corporation/group/organization, begin your citation with the section title.
Works Cited	"Audit and Assurance." Chartered Professional Accountants Canada, 2016, www.cpacanada.ca/en/business-and-accounting-resources/audit-and-assurance. Accessed 14 Aug. 2023.
In-Text Citation	("Title of Section"). Example: ("Audit and Assurance").

**Page or Document on a Website - Known Author**

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Page or Document." *Title of Website,* Name of Organization

Affiliated with the Website, Date of copyright or date last modified/updated, URL.

Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	Morin, Amy. "Mom Am I Fat?: Helping Your Teen Have a Positive Body Image." Verywell Family, About Inc., 18 Jan. 2019, www.verywellfamily.com/media-and-teens-body-image-2611245. Accessed 14 Aug. 2023.
In-Text Citation	(Author's Last Name). Example: (Morin).

**Page or Document on a Website - Unknown Author**

"Title of Page or Document." *Title of Website,* Name of Organization Affiliated with the Website, Date of copyright

or date last modified/updated, URL. Accessed Day Month Year site was visited.
Works Cited	"How to Teach Yourself Guitar." eHow, Demand Media, www.ehow.com/how_5298173_teach-yourself-guitar.html. Accessed 24 June 2016. Note: The above example has no copyright/last updated date. It is important to include the date of access if the source has no date specifying when it was produced or published.
In-Text Citation	("Title of Page or Document"). Example: ("How to Teach"). Note: There is no author, so the title (or an abbreviated version of the title) is used in the in-text citation, in quotation marks, as it appears in the Works Cited List Example above.