Searching Tips
Keywords are...
- A good way to start a search.
- The important concepts in your own words.
- Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
- Very flexible.
Connecting concepts...
- Join similar ideas or alternate term with "OR."
- Link different parts of your topic with "AND."
- Exclude concepts with "NOT."
Limit to Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly articles...
- This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals, produced by scholars and experts.
- Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.
Narrow the Date Range...
- When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.
Great Starting Point - ERIC Database
A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present.
Education Databases
DSC Library has over 80 databases that you may access to find full text articles. Below are just a few databases that will help jumpstart your search.
Note: Login in the SSO option using your DSC Email and Password.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Education Full-text covers a wide range of subjects such including Athletics Distance Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, etc. - Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The worlds largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and more. - ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, includes 1.1+ million records from 1,016 journals and other documents from 1966 to the present. - InfoTrac Professional Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, and more. - PBS Video This link opens in a new windowThis collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians and is a FREE resource offered by EBSCO Publishing to the library and education communities.
