The RADAR Framework can help you remember what kinds of questions you should be asking about an information source as you evaluate it for quality and usefulness in your research.
Relevance
Authority
Date
Accuracy
Rationale
Links to many of the Library of Congress educational resources including teacher's guides, lesson plans, and high-quality digitized materials. In addition to primary source sets, themed resources, and collection connections, the Library of Congress also provides professional development tools for teachers here.
Smithsonian lesson plans emphasize inquiry-based learning using primary sources and museum collections. Each plan is printer-friendly and provides you with all the materials you need: photographs, reproductions, handouts, activities, suggested strategies, standards information, and additional online resources.
Provides lesson plans and multimedia resources (documents, images, video, audio, and interactive presentations) for K-12 teachers. Content is produced by PBS and WGBH Boston.
Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers. It is part of The Annenberg Foundation and advances the Foundation's goal of encouraging the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.
Practice guides provide practical recommendations for educators to help them address the everyday challenges they face in their classrooms and schools. Recommendations, strategies for overcoming potential roadblocks, and an indication of the strength of evidence supporting each recommendation. Links are included to additional research based materials.
A non-profit organization promoting bilingual education and quality educational experiences for all students in California
This site has lesson plans and worksheets available for download and an educator forum. For students, it offers interactive quizzes and lists of links to other ESL sites.
TESOL's mission is to develop and maintain professional expertise in English language teaching and learning for speakers of other languages worldwide
UCLA's Center for World Languages (CWL) coordinates language research, teaching and evaluation programs.
Since 2003, the Florida Electronic Library has provided over 190 million articles, e-books, videos and other electronic resources to the citizens of Florida. Click on All Resources for a list of databases, reference books, and links to other valuable resources.
The Volusia County Public Library's Digital Library offers a wide selection of online books, audio books, and streaming video along with research databases and online courses. Access is free with a VCPL Library Card and PIN. DSC students who live in Flagler County can obtain a VCPL Library Card with a DSC College ID and other required identification.
The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals. Today, the independent database contains ca. 12000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
This is a special service of Google that indexes both case law and academic research articles. Many of these articles have links to the online full text. You can also link Google Scholar to the Daytona State College Library Databases. For details on how to do this, contact a DSC Librarian.
govinfo is a service of GPO to provide free public access to the full text of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. When you search the content available on govinfo, you will be able to download the full text of publications but you won’t see records for documents that are not stored on govinfo.
PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. Founded with the aim of accelerating the pace of scientific advancement and demonstrating its value, we believe all rigorous science needs to be published and discoverable, widely disseminated and freely accessible to all.
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 1999 we made high quality research open to everyone who needed to access it – and in making the open access model sustainable, we changed the world of academic publishing.