 |
Tel:386-506-3518 |
 |
Chat with a Librarian |
 |
Email a Librarian |
 |
Meet with a Librarian |
 |
Search FAQs |
To check out materials you must have a current photo student ID. Non-student residents of Volusia and Flagler counties may apply for a Resident Patron account, which allows them to borrow materials from the library. A driver's license or state issued photo ID may be required for some reserve items.
Daytona State Students, Faculty, and Staff may borrow 5 items on a topic and may have a total of 20 items on loan at any one time. Resident Patrons may borrow up to 4 items at a time.
Circulating materials generally circulate for 2 weeks and may be renewed 1 time if there is not a hold on them. Daytona State baccalaureate students and UCF upper division and graduate students may check out books for 4 weeks with 1 renewal.
The overdue fine for print material is 25¢ per item, per day; a $1.00 per day for multimedia and DVD items. For lost or damaged material, there is a $10 processing fee in addition to the replacement cost for the item. Outstanding fines may result in holds on transcripts and graduation. For questions about overdue fines, please contact us at 386-506-3055.
Course reserves may be checked out from the Circulation Desk. Reserves may be used in the library and photocopied. Certain HIGH DEMAND text books may also be available for in library use, however, the library does not carry circulating copies of textbooks. If you're a professor and you want to submit a reserve request, click to fill out the Adding Items to Reserves Room form.
Please note that the above are general guidelines and may not apply to all materials or patrons. The circulation department can provide additional information on these topics. To contact the circulation department, please call 386-506-3055.
| Item | Two Year Students, Community Patrons | DSC & UCF Four Year Students | DSC Faculty, Adjuncts, & Staff |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books | Two weeks, with one two week renewal. | Four weeks, with one four week renewal. | Sixteen weeks, with one sixteen week renewal. |
| New Books | Two weeks, no renewals. | Two weeks, no renewals. | Two weeks, no renewals. |
| Circulating DVDs & Audiobooks | Two weeks, no renewals. | Two weeks, no renewals. | Two weeks, no renewals. |
| Reserve Textbooks | Four hours, in building use only. | Four hours, in building use only. | Change due date as needed. |
| Reserve DVDs | Four hours, in building use only. | Four hours, in building use only. | Change due date as needed. |
The DSC library seeks to provide the DSC community with the best possible environment for research and study. The library's code of conduct was adapted from the Daytona State College student handbook. Library patrons and staff expect to have:
Therefore, all patrons are expected to adhere to the following policies:
Only animals on lead being used to assist people with disabilities are allowed in the library.
Audible cell phone and other electronic devices should only be used in designated areas.
Under the age of 10 must be accompanied by a responsible adult, 18 years or older.
Patrons are expected to use computing resources in a manner consistent with the educational and research goals of the college and adhere to state and federal laws. Viewing or displaying inappropriate or offensive materials is prohibited.
The Campus Safety department and/or outside law enforcement authorities will be notified to address criminal behavior including but not limited to: assault, verbal threats, possession of weapons [simulated or real], public indecency, sexual harassment, theft of library books or property, vandalism, intoxication, possession of drugs, and viewing child pornography.
The following behavior which may damage library equipment, collections, or facilities is prohibited: defacing library materials, equipment, furniture or facilities by marking, cutting, underlining, removing pages, or removal of theft devices.
Any behavior that is disruptive to library use is prohibited. This includes but is not limited to:
Non-compliance with DSC emergency procedures during emergency situations or dangerous weather conditions.
Food and non-alcoholic beverages in securely covered containers are allowed. Not reporting spills and/or leaving a mess by being careless with food and beverages is prohibited.
Leaving personal belongings unattended for any length of time is prohibited. Items left unattended for more than 15 minutes may be taken to the Campus Safety Lost and Found office.
The use of all tobacco products or devices capable of dispensing nicotine [such as electronic cigarettes] is prohibited inside the building or with 25 feet of the front entrance where signs prohibiting smoking are posted.
The purpose of the reserve collection is to make selected items available to students in support of a specific course for the duration of the semester. Reserve materials are either items from the library collection or department/personal copies of materials used as supplemental reading for some courses. Reserve materials for Daytona State College courses are housed behind the Circulation Desk in order to maintain controlled access. Because reserve material does not circulate and is available only in the library, students registered for classes are assured of availability.
Reserve materials may be either items from the library’s collections or department/personal copies of materials which meet copyright and fair use guidelines and generally do not include photocopies of articles from magazines, journals, or newspapers, as well as photocopied selections from books. Due to space limitations, materials freely available on the Internet should not be included in the reserve collection. Handouts, tests, course packets, and homework solutions are NOT appropriate for reserve status.
Any instructor may place items on reserve by completely filling out the Reserves form. The copyright compliance statement at the bottom of the form must be acknowledged by the instructor before an item is placed on reserve. A maximum of two copies of any one title can be placed on reserve per class.
One chapter (or 10%) from a book may be placed on reserve unless the instructor received the copyright holder's written permission and acknowledged receipt when submitting materials to reserve. This applies to edited collections of readings and essays because each reading is considered a chapter. eReserve materials are available only for the semester in which the class is taught. Any uses beyond the first semester require copyright permission. Students will be required to log in with their DSC account to access their course eReserve.
Items will be placed on reserve within five working days of receipt. Please note that personal items placed on print reserve will be labeled, bar-coded, and sensitized in order to meet library system requirements.
Instructors are responsible for updating and applying for copyright permission where necessary for the items on reserve in their name. Instructors can obtain a list of items on reserve under their name by performing a course reserve search in the library catalog or by requesting a list from the Reserves Specialist, Melinda Cascioli (melinda.cascioli@daytonastate.edu). Print materials that are not used during the academic year will be returned to the instructor. The library cannot accept responsibility for replacing lost personal copies. Instructors will be notified when a personal copy becomes overdue or has been lost.
The overdue fine for print material is 25¢ per item, per day; a $1.00 per day for multimedia and DVD items. For lost or damaged material, there is a $10 processing fee in addition to the replacement cost for the item. Outstanding fines may result in holds on transcripts and graduation. For questions about overdue fines, please contact us at 386-506-3055.
A fine of $1.00 will be charged per hour for reserve items not returned to the Circulation Desk after 4 hours. This fine will accumulate until it reaches the replacement cost for the item at the time it was ordered, plus a re-ordering fee. This fee will not be waived.
Daytona State College Library makes every effort to efficiently manage the circulation of our physical materials in a fair and consistent manner. Late or lost materials will incur fines according to established guidelines provided in the Circulation Policy Manual. However, under some circumstances you may have sound reasons for appealing a fine.
Appeals must be made within 30 days after the date of the fines billing. Accounts which are already eligible for Collections cannot be appealed.
Complete the Daytona State College Library Services Fine Appeal Form within the appropriate time frame and return (in person or by e-mail) to the Circulation Librarian. Please keep a copy of your appeal documents for your own records.
Your appeal will be carefully reviewed and investigated. This process may take several weeks. If you are blocked from registering in the meantime, request a temporary removal of your block from the Circulation Department. You will be notified of the decision of the Committee. The Committee's decision is final.
The Fine Appeals Committee is composed of the Circulation Librarian, the Head Librarian, and the Associate Vice-President for Library and Academic Support Services.
Please fill out this form. Additional documentation should be emailed to library@daytonastate.edu.
Interlibrary Loan is available to currently attending Daytona State students, full-time faculty, currently teaching adjunct faculty, and Daytona State staff. Interlibrary Loan is not available to resident patrons. UCF students, faculty, and staff should use UCF's Interlibrary Loan process. For details, check the UCF Library Website.
The first thing you should do is to make sure the material you need, or something equivalent, is not available at the Daytona State Libraries. You should search for your title or by your subject in the Daytona State Online Catalog (See the Find a Book or E-book link on the left hand menu). When you are in the catalog, you can also check to see if the title is available from another college by selecting "All Colleges" on the search screen. If the book is available from another college, you can obtain it much quicker by ordering it directly through the catalog by using the "Request" button.
Once you have determined that the material you need is not available from Daytona State or another college, click on the Online Interlibrary Loan Form below. If you need an Article Request Form or a Purchase Recommendation Form, click on the appropriate one. It is very important to provide complete, accurate information, without abbreviations, for the materials you want to order. Most libraries will not fill incomplete orders. You must fill out a separate request form for each item that you need. Do not submit several items on one request. There is a 5 active request limit for interlibrary loans. For students we will use your Falconmail address, or for faculty and staff your College E-mail address to notify you that your material is ready for pick up or to request more information, so please include it on your form.
It generally takes 1-2 weeks from the date of your request to receive materials. Materials ordered from other community colleges directly through the catalog usually take less than 1 week to arrive.
Some libraries impose a charge for items loaned or copied via interlibrary loan and you may be asked to pay this charge. If there is a charge, we will notify you via e-mail before we process the order. Note: You will be charged overdue fines for materials returned late. For lost or damaged materials you will be charged the amount the lending library determines plus a processing fee. Any unpaid fines or fees may result in holds on transcripts and graduation.
The length of time you may have the borrowed material and any restrictions on use of the material are determined by the lending library. Interlibrary Loan materials can not be renewed and can be recalled at any time. Please return your borrowed materials to the Daytona or DeLand Library Circulation desks. This will ensure that the item is checked in correctly.
For more information, please contact library@daytonastate.edu or call our Circulation Desk at 386-506-3055.
You can request circulating library materials be delivered to your home campus (ATC, Deltona, Flagler/Palm Coast, New Smyrna Beach) from the Daytona or Deland Libraries by using the “Request” feature which is built into the Online Catalog.
Note: If the book is at your home campus (Daytona or Deland) and is available, placing a hold on it will not have any effect. The books on the open stacks are first come, first serve. However, if a book is checked out, you may place a hold on it and you will be contacted when it is returned.
You may cancel a request by clicking on My Account in the upper right hand corner of the catalog page. It will take approximately 3 to 4 days for your item to be delivered.
You will pick it up at the Academic Support Center at your campus (you may also return it there). If you have any questions about this process or the status of an order, please call the Circulation Desk at 386-506-3055. Please do not ask the Academic Support Center staff about your order since they are only a pick-up and drop-off point for these materials.
Residents of Volusia or Flagler Counties who are not currently registered students of Daytona State College may be granted limited privileges for use of Daytona State College resources and services through a Community Patron Account.
Community patrons using Daytona State College Library facilities, resources, and services must abide by all applicable Library and College policies and procedures. Failure to do so will result in a loss of privileges which are provided at the discretion of Daytona State College Library and can be limited or revoked at any time.