Databases
DSC Library has over 80 databases that you may access to find full-text articles. Below are just a few databases that will help jumpstart your search. Note: Login in the SSO option using your DSC Email and Password.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Geared to the school and library market, our highly acclaimed reference and nonfiction books cover a wide variety of core subject areas, such as history, science, literature, careers, geography, health, and more. Our various imprints span a range of grade levels from elementary school through college with special imprints devoted to career references and an extensive library of literary criticism edited by the esteemed Harold Bloom. - Health and Nursing This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database allows users to search CINAHL, Health Source Consumer and Nursing, Medline, and PsycARTICLES all in one. - Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. Does not include reference sources or the Alternative Health suite of resources. - CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more. - Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. - Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use interface with access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources, as well as informational pamphlets. Also includes the Alternative Health suite of resources. - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. - Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions. - Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.
A Note About Evidence Based Research
Many databases offer Evidence-based research filtering options, but not all will. To help you find what is an Evidence-based source, we will provide a rough guide of what to look for:
A hallmark of evidence-based journal articles is the inclusion of a comprehensive review of current research related to the subject. This often takes the form of a literature review or a discussion that uses previous studies and data to inform the article’s conclusions. It is likely evidence-based if the article presents its findings in this context—building on a foundation of existing research.
Finding evidence-based research accurately requires more than just using database filters; it also involves critical appraisal of each article. Healthcare students should evaluate whether the study's design, methodology, and sources align with the principles of evidence-based research.
Ultimately, effective search strategies and thorough evaluation are key to locating and applying evidence-based research in healthcare, ensuring that your education is supported by the best possible sources available.