The RADAR Framework can help you remember what kinds of questions you should be asking about an information source as you evaluate it for quality and usefulness in your research.
Relevance
Authority
Date
Accuracy
Rationale
The NIH is a federal agency that provides information on health and wellness, diseases and conditions, clinical trials, and more.
The CDC is the site to visit when you need health-related statistics. It also has information about health and safety at home and in the workplace, diseases and conditions, and emergency preparedness.
The FDA is the agency that approves new medications and ensures food safety. They also have information about medical devices, vaccines, radiation, and tobacco.
The Florida Department of Health has information for healthcare professionals on licensing and regulations, records and laws, data and statistics, disease, injuries and conditions, emergency preparedness, and more.
National Patient Safety Goals for ambulatory care, behavioral health care, critical access hospital, hospital, home care, lab services, long term care, nursing care center, and office-based surgery.
Here are the three major questions you need to ask when picking a plan. From Consumer Reports.
The AMA Journal of Ethics is the American Medical Association's MEDLINE-indexed ethics publication. The journal is advertisement-free and open-access. We strongly believe that ethics education for physicians and physicians-to-be is in the public's interest and should be made available without charge. Founded in 1999, the AMA Journal of Ethics explores the ethical issues and challenges that students, residents, and other physicians are likely to confront in their training and daily practice. This journal is a valuable teaching resource for medical educators at all levels. Therefore, each monthly issue contains original articles and commentary on a given theme-e.g., access to care; quality-of-life considerations in clinical decision-making, public roles of physicians, ethical issues in a given medical specialty, new medical technologies, conflict of values in the clinic, and so on.
Since 2003, the Florida Electronic Library has provided over 190 million articles, e-books, videos and other electronic resources to the citizens of Florida. Click on All Resources for a list of databases, reference books, and links to other valuable resources.
The Volusia County Public Library's Digital Library offers a wide selection of online books, audio books, and streaming video along with research databases and online courses. Access is free with a VCPL Library Card and PIN. DSC students who live in Flagler County can obtain a VCPL Library Card with a DSC College ID and other required identification.
The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals. Today, the independent database contains ca. 12000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone.
This is a special service of Google that indexes both case law and academic research articles. Many of these articles have links to the online full text. You can also link Google Scholar to the Daytona State College Library Databases. For details on how to do this, contact a DSC Librarian.
govinfo is a service of GPO to provide free public access to the full text of official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. When you search the content available on govinfo, you will be able to download the full text of publications but you won’t see records for documents that are not stored on govinfo.
PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. Founded with the aim of accelerating the pace of scientific advancement and demonstrating its value, we believe all rigorous science needs to be published and discoverable, widely disseminated and freely accessible to all.
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 1999 we made high quality research open to everyone who needed to access it – and in making the open access model sustainable, we changed the world of academic publishing.