Evaluating Web Sources
RADAR Framework
The RADAR Framework can help you remember what kinds of questions you should be asking about an information source as you evaluate it for quality and usefulness in your research.
Relevance
- How is the information you have found relevant to your assignment?
- Does the information answer our research question?
Authority
- Who is the author/ publisher/ source?
- What are the author's credentials?
- Is the author affiliated to an academic institution or reputable organization?
Date
- When was the information published?
- Has the information be revised or updated?
- Is the publication date important to you?
- Does your research requite timely sources?
Accuracy
- Where does the information come from?
- Is the information supported by evidence or peer reviews?
- Is the information presented in a professional or academic manner? Free of spelling or grammatical errors?
- Does it have citations and references?
Rationale
- Why did the author publish the information?
- What is the purpose of the information? to inform? teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
- Is there obvious bias or prejudice?
Databases
DSC Library has over 80 databases that you may access to find full-text articles. Below are just a few databases that will help jumpstart your search. Note: Login in the SSO option using your DSC Email and Password.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. - Applied Science and Technology Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodical coverage includes 575 trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. Contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles. - Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions. - Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily. - Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
