It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Is psychology a science? Students will learn what science is and the ways in which psychology is both like and unlike a science. Two case studies are given to explore the different ways to approach psychology, and to help students formulate their own opinions. (6 minutes)
This program begins by defining stress and its causes. Types of stressors like daily life hassles and major life events, and the psychological responses of eustress and distress are explored. (10 minutes)
Provides an interdisciplinary overview and critical examination of how individuals are affected by mass media. The book critically examines research from cognitive, social, developmental, biological, and evolutionary approaches to psychology and addresses the interplay between media consumption and viewer behavior in such realms as advertising, body image, sex, and violence.
The text examines the influence of the environment on human experiences, behaviour and well-being and explores the factors influencing environmental behaviour, and ways to encourage pro-environmental behaviour.
A useful book that deals with a number of psychological issues surfacing in military and paramilitary forces. Military Psychology: Concepts, Trends and Interventions offers various psychological theories that are not only significant in the context of soldiers but also help to strengthen the capability of military and paramilitary forces during combat and non-combat operations.
What is abnormality? Using the case studies of two young women—one who has depression, one who has an anxiety disorder—as a springboard, this program presents three psychological perspectives on mental disorder. (30 minutes)
What compels a seemingly normal person to disregard a fundamental societal principle and commit murder? In this disturbing program, correspondent Steve Aveson reports on scientific research into the behavior of killers. (47 minutes)
Foundations of Clinical Psychiatry is the trusted introductory text for students of medicine and other health professions, including psychiatric nursing, psychology, social work and occupational therapy.
This edition of Forensic Psychology: The Basics continues to provide an essential and accessible overview of a dynamic and fascinating discipline. Providing an engaging introduction to the core topics within Forensic Psychology, the text combines a discussion of theory with information about the role of a professional forensic psychologist.
Schizophrenia is a chronic, severe mental illness that can be devastating for patients and their loved ones. Whether you are a newly diagnosed patient or a relative of someone suffering from this condition, this book offers help. 100 Questions & Answers About Schizophrenia: Painful Minds, Third Edition provides authoritative, practical answers to your questions about symptoms, diagnosis, treatment options, sources of support, and much more.
As the deadliest drug epidemic in American history rages, follow the cutting-edge work of doctors and scientists as they explore how addiction affects the brain and how we should address our opioid crisis. (53 minutes)
Children as young as three are becoming addicted to mobile phones, harming their development and causing possible long-term damage. We follow some of the youngest cases and hear how our brains are affected by exposure to screens. We also learn how platforms like Snapchat or Facebook are engineered to make them hyper-addictive. (53 minutes)
Is drug addiction a disease that can be treated, or is it a crime that should be punished? In her probing study, Illness or Deviance?, Jennifer Murphy investigates the various perspectives on addiction, and how society has myriad ways of handling it--incarcerating some drug users while putting others in treatment.
Find the authoritative answers you need on everything from the pharmacology of addiction through diagnosis, assessment, and early intervention; various forms of addiction management...treatment of individual patient populations; management of intoxication and withdrawal; pharmacologic and behavioral interventions; recovery programs; medical disorders and complications...co-occurring addiction and psychiatric disorders; pain and addiction; children and adolescents; and ethical, legal, and liability issues.
In this episode, Professor Robert Winston and Professor Tanya Byron discover how our teenagers' changing brains mean that what they choose to do at 16 can shape their lives forever. With surprising new research in human biology and neuroscience, we reveal how the most baffling aspects of teenage life can be explained and illuminated by the latest understanding of the changing teenage brain. (1 hour)
Adolescence is a time when cute children suddenly become rebellious teenagers. The latest scientific research suggests this is deeply related to a “special mechanism” uniquely acquired during evolution; the troubling adolescent behavior is actually a part of human brain development. (49 minutes)
This book describes a series of cases where the child's presenting complaint is seen to be the expression of an underlying emotional conflict that the child expects the parents to understand and help him or her to overcome. The parents' interpretation of the child's symptoms cannot but be influenced by their own previous life experiences and if their eventual response does not meet the child's anxiety, the child feels misunderstood and the physical complaint remains unchanged.
Over 6 million children experienced some type of child maltreatment in 2013, with 144,000 receiving foster care services (Child Maltreatment, 2013). Legal decision-makers, including judges, case workers, and social workers have the important task of determining what placement is in the best interest of the child.
Superintendent Mike Dempsey implemented a novel approach to dealing with the systemic problems represented by gang involvement. His program GROW—Gang Realities in Our World—brings together kids with gang ties to live with one another, speak to one another, and face the fact that far less separates them than holds them in common. This film highlights that program and covers one of its counseling sessions. Viewer discretion advised. (43 minutes)
In this introduction to Person-Centred Counseling, Barry Kopp demonstrates how, by working with the three core conditions of empathy, unconditional positive regard and congruence, he is able to develop the counseling relationship. This set includes an unscripted counseling session using the Person-Centered model, a debrief with client and practitioner, a discussion of key concepts, and a discussion of how the CPCAB model of counselling practice relates to Person-Centered Theory. (2 hr 3 min)
A complete introduction to the theory and practice of contemporary counselling psychology. An excellent resource for students at undergraduate or graduate level, Counselling Psychology: A Textbook for Study and Practice provides valuable insights into the key issues associated with theory and practice in this field.
Wellness is an important goal of counseling work, but the limits of promoting it are reached more quickly for individuals living in disadvantaged circumstances. How then can counselors be effective in a context that produces and reproduces structural inequality? Jason Brown addresses this question, exploring the possibilities and limitations of counseling, as well as the forces that help and hinder communities, while demonstrating the need for alternatives to mainstream psychological approaches.
The fifth edition of this very popular text includes sixteen chapters that cover all the major domains of clinical practice, from work in primary care or with children and families, to clinical psychology as it is practiced with those with severe and enduring mental health problems, and those with eating disorders, to the work of clinical psychologists in forensic settings or in leadership positions.
The work of Jean Piaget has become the foundation of developmental psychology and the basis for changes in educational practice. In this program, David Elkind—author of The Hurried Child and Miseducation and a student of Piaget—explores the roots of Piaget’s work and outlines important vocabulary and concepts that structure much of the study of child development. (25 minutes)
The work of Lev Vygotsky is cited as the theory and practice of constructivist education. This program reconsiders the life, vocabulary, and concepts of Vygotsky, illustrating four basic concepts integral to his work: children construct knowledge, learning can lead development, development cannot be separated from its social context, and language plays a central role in cognitive development. (28 minutes)
Offers a comprehensive, in-depth chronicle of issues surrounding the psychology of aging emphasizing psychology, with a foundation in the biology, and an expansion into the sociological aspects of aging.
This major new undergraduate textbook provides students with everything they need when studying developmental psychology. Guiding students through the key topics, the book provides both an overview of traditional research and theory as well as an insight into the latest research findings and techniques.
Developmental psychology, also known as human development, is the scientific study of systematic psychological changes that occur in human beings over the course of the life span. Originally concerned with infants and children, the field has expanded to include adolescence and adult development, ageing, and the entire life span.
This program traces the history of educational psychology from ancient philosophy to modern theories. It explores the ideas of such figures as Plato, Aristotle, Vives, Herbert, Thorndike, James, Hall, Dewey, Cubberley, Binet, Piaget, Steiner, Bloom, Bandura, Vygotsky, and Bruner. (26 minutes)
This program explores instructional design, educational technology, curriculum development, organizational learning, special education, and classroom management. It outlines the cognitive, academic, social, and moral goals of learning; presents behavioral, cognitive, functionalist, and constructivist theories of learning; and looks at qualitative and quantitative methods of pedagogical analysis. The program also considers the effects of such factors as intelligence, motivation, reading level, culture, and disability on student comprehension and learning. (32 minutes)
The Psychology of Education addresses key concepts from psychology which relate to education. Throughout the text the author team emphasise an evidence-based approach, providing practical suggestions to improve learning outcomes, while fictional case studies are used in this new edition to provide students with a sense of what psychological issues can look like in the classroom.
Who cheats and why? How do they cheat? What are the consequences? What are the ways of stopping it before it starts? These questions and more are answered in this research based investigation into the nature and circumstances of Academic Cheating.
Non-consensual sexuality is perhaps the most difficult, yet most valuable of the sexuality conversations in this series. Theoretically, 100% of us, when we are sexual, want sex to be consensual. Anastasia, Molly and Monique share their stories with us in an unscripted and spontaneous manner. Each has been the victim of sexual assault. (37 minutes)
To whom are you attracted? Persons of the same sex? Persons of the “other” sex? Persons of both sexes? Listen and watch as Jeannie and Mary talk about being the first lesbian couple to adopt in Colorado. Observe a three-parent family with their three children as they talk about sexual orientation and its role in their family. Listen as Kim shares her unfolding story of intersexuality discovery and its role in her sexual orientation. (37 minutes)
Engendering Psychology's treatment of issues is based solidly on scientific evidence and presented in a balanced manner. The authors explore the concept of gender as a social construction across the lines of race, ethnicity, class, age, and sexual orientation.
Drawing on discursive psychology, this book traces the historical development of psychiatric constructions of ‘normal' and ‘abnormal' gender expression. It contextualizes the recent reconstruction of gender in the 5th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) and its criteria for gender dysphoria.
The text presents the major theoretical perspectives on human sexuality, and details the vast diversity of sexual attitudes and behaviors that exist in the modern world. The author also reviews the history of sexology and explores its unique methods and ethical considerations.
This video explores social thinking, social influence, and social relations of both the antisocial and pro-social varieties. How do we understand other people? Consider the kinds of force a group exerts. (29 minutes)
This film uses real studies to explore some of the major issues surrounding psychological research in three key areas: ethics, socially sensitive research, and ethnocentrism. It covers ethical guidelines for research and reasons for breaching those guidelines; how to address research justification, use of knowledge, and interpretation of findings in a socially sensitive research proposal; and how to be aware of social construction and possible ethnocentric biases. (23 minutes)
Discussing the theory and science behind our understanding of how people relate to others, this book explores how we understand ourselves and others, how we relate at an individual and group level, the key processes underpinning social influence and the ways the discipline has evolved (and continues to evolve).
The Psychology of Consumer and Social Influence stands out from other books on the topic of “influence”. Most books on influence or persuasion select authors to focus on subsets of theoretical issues within a fairly narrow research focus. In this book, you will find a set of consumer and social researchers - some among the best in the country who address topics within their areas of expertise. The papers presented here should have a unique appeal because of the diverse range of issues that are examined.