PCB2033 Introduction to Ecology

Provides free access to online journals containing fieldwork conducted by museum scientists in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology.

Searchable "access to taxonomic information for every recognized species of amphibian in the world. Species accounts are being added regularly by specialists and volunteers and they contain species descriptions, life history information, conservation status, literature references, photos and range maps for many species."

A "large searchable encyclopedia of the natural history of animals." Searchable by either the common name or the taxonomic (scientific) name of an animal. Includes some, but not many, insects.

Ecology Florida advances the harmonious integration of healthy natural, cultural, and economic ecologies to reestablish a sustainable world.

"This database is intended to provide information on the classification of all living reptiles by listing all species and their pertinent higher taxa. The database therefore covers all living snakes, lizards, amphisbaenians and crocodiles." Provides primarily (scientific) names, synonyms, distributions and related data. Currently searchable by scientific name only.

A global effort to assemble information on all living species known to science into one ever-expanding, trusted, web-based resource.

Environment Florida is a citizen-based environmental advocacy organization and a project of Environment America. We believe that Florida’s environment is unique and worth protecting for future generations.

"The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's online collection of public domain still photographs. The National Image Library contains still photo images of wildlife, plants, National Wildlife Refuges and other scenics, as well as wildlife management work."

A "global information system with all you ever wanted to know about fishes. FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more."

Since 2003, the Florida Electronic Library has provided over 190 million articles, e-books, videos and other electronic resources to the citizens of Florida. Click on All Resources for a list of databases, reference books, and links to other valuable resources.

Managing fish and wildlife resources for their long-term well-being and the benefit of people.

The Hymenoptera On-Line site, in addition to providing information on classification, provides access to taxonomic literature, mapping, specimen data, images, biological associations, and links to other on-line resources such as GenBank and the USDA Plants Database. Knowledge of ant names is not required, as those can be pulled down (via this gateway). Climbing up (search the parent) and down (see the children) the taxonomic hierarchy is possible.

Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

A database of mammalian taxonomy. Is searchable by either the taxonomic (scientific) name or the common name of an animal. (Caution: "The common name information is not complete, and some commonly used mammal names may return no records or an incomplete list of records.")

Nomenclatural database and associated authority files compiled by the Missiouri Botanical Garden.

The National Wetlands Research Center provides science with impact to ensure that its research is relevant and useful for resource managers, policy makers, and the public. To accomplish this, the Center seeks scientific discovery and knowledge, communicates timely science information, and engages in robust alliances with government, non-government, and university partners. To learn more, see the Center's Mission and Strategic Plan.

The mission of The Nature Conservancy is to conserve the lands and waters on which all life depends.

Our vision is a world where the diversity of life thrives, and people act to conserve nature for its own sake and its ability to fulfill our needs and enrich our lives.

"A source for authoritative conservation information on more than 50,000 plants, animals, and ecological communities of the United States and Canada." One can search to find "scientific and common names, conservation status, distribution maps, life histories, conservation needs, and more."

The world's most widely used resource on Charles Darwin

A searchable database26 providing taxonomic, conservation status, and distribution information on taxa that have been evaluated using the World Conservation Union (IUCN) Red List Categories and Criteria. Although other groups are included, the only taxonomic groups which have been "comprehensively assessed" are the birds and mammals.

South Florida Ecological Services Field Office- The Ecological Services Division of the USFWS works to protect and restore healthy populations of fish and wildlife and the environments on which they depend. To accomplish this, the South Florida Ecological Services Field Office has these programs: Everglades Restoration, Coastal Ecology, Contaminants, Endangered Species, Habitat Conservation, and Partners for Fish and Wildlife.

Lists of threatened and endangered species in the U.S. with information.

The World Biodiversity Database (WBD) is a continuously growing taxonomic database and information system that allows you to search and browse a number of online species banks covering a wide variety of organisms.

Taxonomic and biodiversity research tool compiled by the International Trust for Zoological Nomenclature.