General Information
-
Kindergarten & Elementary School TeacherOverview of the profession from the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes information about: General nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training and qualifications, job outlook, earnings, and related occupations.
Career Resources
-
Career.orgCareers.org offers in-depth occupation profiles for thousands of careers, which contain specific information including: the nature of work; average earnings; underlying training and education; related occupations; and corresponding academic programs.
-
DSC Career Services Perfect InterviewPerfect Interview is an interactive, multimedia tool that helps you practice and enhance your job interviewing skills.
-
CareerSource Flagler VolusiaCareerSource Flagler Volusia provides recruitment-related services, human resource information and training opportunities to businesses and job seekers in our community.
-
DSC Career Services Resume & Cover Letter AssistanceThe DSC Career Services office provides excellent resume and cover letter help for current and former DSC students.
-
Free Resume TemplatesDdownloaded into MS Word, Hloom provides a variety of traditional, modern, and creative designs.
DSC Career Services
-
Career Exploration at Daytona State CollegeThe Career Placement staff looks forward to helping you explore and define your career and educational goals more clearly so that you can select appropriate courses and head down the path to a career you will truly enjoy. Services are available to all currently enrolled students and all alumni of Daytona State College.
Introduction to Resumes
Job Posting
-
Education AmericaSearchable international database of education vacancies. Also has an email alert feature for users to set up a profile and be automatically emailed positions that fit their criteria.
-
Education Week's Top School JobsJob listings and career news from the editors at Education Week and Teacher's Magazine.
-
EF English FirstEnglish First is one of 16 business units that work under the global umbrella of Education First, often referred to simply as EF. Our focus is local English language training courses. Their goal is the same at all of our schools: providing excellent teaching in an immersive environment.
-
K-12 CareersAllows for a job search by state. Includes salary information, associations, and certification information.
-
National Association of Independent Schools Career CenterNational job board for the National Association of Independent Schools Career Center.
-
NCES Search for Public SchoolsContains detailed information about public and private school districts and federal program information from the Common Core of Data from the US Department of Education.
-
School SpringFully comprehensive site offering job links for virtually any type of educational setting.
-
State Education AgenciesContact information and websites for each state's Department of Education.
-
Teach for AmericaCommit to two years teaching in an under-resourced urban or rural school.
Professional Associations
-
Florida Education AssociationFEA offers its members career advice, teaching and education news, and numerous discounts to stores and other vendors.
-
National Education AssociationNEA focuses on advocating for education professionals dedicated to the public school system. Members receive access to publications, discounted legal services, and local leadership sources.
-
American Federation of TeachersWith 1.5 million members, AFT provides excellent networking opportunities. It has 3,000 affiliates in 43 states and offers members scholarships, loan forgiveness programs, legal advice, and more.
-
American Association for Employment in EducationAAEE was founded in 1934 as the National Institutional Teacher Placement Association, and was known from 1962 to 1996 as the Association for School, College and University Staffing (ASCUS). Today, as AAEE, we help ease the day-to-day challenges of matching educational institutions and staff. Members are career services professionals who work with education candidates and school system human resource administrators. The association is a resource and liaison to these professionals, facilitating quality K-12 staffing.
Licensure
-
Certification Requirements for Fifty StatesTeacher certification in the United States.
-
National Center for Alternative CertificationThis group seeks to diversify and expand the teaching profession by providing opportunities for non-traditional candidates to gain entry into the profession. General information about alternative certification and profiles of different states' policies are outlined.