Searching Tips
Keywords are...
- A good way to start a search.
- The important concepts in your own words.
- Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.).
- Very flexible.
Connecting concepts...
- Join similar ideas or alternate term with "OR."
- Link different parts of your topic with "AND."
- Exclude concepts with "NOT."
Limit to Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly articles...
- This is part of the publication & editorial process for academic and research journals, produced by scholars and experts.
- Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.
Narrow the Date Range...
- When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.
Databases
DSC Library has over 80 databases that you may access to find full text articles. Below are just a few databases that will help jumpstart your search.
Note: Login in the SSO option using your DSC Email and Password.
- Applied Science and Technology Sources This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Periodical coverage includes 575 trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. - Computer Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
- General Business File ASAPGale - Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends, and the latest in management, economics and politics. Search broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings.