Botany

The Botanical Society of America encompasses all areas of plant biology, including development, physiology, reproductive biology, evolution, phycology, genetics, mycology, ecology, systematics, molecular biology, and paleobotany. The BSA is one of the world's largest societies devoted to the study of plants and allied organisms, and functions as an umbrella organization covering all specialties.

University of Florida hosts this page on aquatic and invasive plants of Florida.

A global effort to assemble information on all living species known to science into one ever-expanding, trusted, web-based resource.

"The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's online collection of public domain still photographs. The National Image Library contains still photo images of wildlife, plants, National Wildlife Refuges and other scenics, as well as wildlife management work."

Since 2003, the Florida Electronic Library has provided over 190 million articles, e-books, videos and other electronic resources to the citizens of Florida. Click on All Resources for a list of databases, reference books, and links to other valuable resources.

Florida invasive plant lists with linked information on each species. The mission of the Florida Exotic Pest Plant Council is to support the management of invasive exotic plants in Florida's natural areas by providing a forum for the exchange of scientific, educational and technical information.

Tracking lists for plant, animal species of concern, as well as community descriptions; has global, federal, and state conservation status or rank for species.

Here you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

Covers 10 southern Florida counties.

Nomenclatural database and associated authority files compiled by the Missiouri Botanical Garden.

The National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) was established in 2005 at USDA's National Agricultural Library (NAL) to meet the information needs of users including the National Invasive Species Council. This Web site serves as a reference gateway to information, organizations, and services about invasive species.

 

The National Wetlands Research Center provides science with impact to ensure that its research is relevant and useful for resource managers, policy makers, and the public. To accomplish this, the Center seeks scientific discovery and knowledge, communicates timely science information, and engages in robust alliances with government, non-government, and university partners. To learn more, see the Center's Mission and Strategic Plan.

"A source for authoritative conservation information on more than 50,000 plants, animals, and ecological communities of the United States and Canada." One can search to find "scientific and common names, conservation status, distribution maps, life histories, conservation needs, and more."

Homepage for the Department of Botany at the Smithsonian.

A searchable database26 providing taxonomic, conservation status, and distribution information on taxa that have been evaluated using the World Conservation Union (IUCN) Red List Categories and Criteria. Although other groups are included, the only taxonomic groups which have been "comprehensively assessed" are the birds and mammals.

With her fellowship, Doctor Whitlock led a project to digitize an historical collection of plant anatomical microscope slides that were made early in the 20th century by W.T. Swingle, one of the twentieth century’s foremost authorities on citrus plants.

South Florida Ecological Services Field Office- The Ecological Services Division of the USFWS works to protect and restore healthy populations of fish and wildlife and the environments on which they depend. To accomplish this, the South Florida Ecological Services Field Office has these programs: Everglades Restoration, Coastal Ecology, Contaminants, Endangered Species, Habitat Conservation, and Partners for Fish and Wildlife.