Anthropology

Library of congress website providing ethnographic resources related to folklore, anthropology, ethnomusicology, and the humanities.

Provides free access to online journals containing fieldwork conducted by museum scientists in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology. The Anthropological Papers, contain monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians.

Begun in 1974, the collection is the most comprehensive repository of recorded and transcribed materials on French in Louisiana, as well as the Upper Mississippi River Valley, French Canada, the West Indies, and Africa. Materials cover folktales, legends, ballads, dance tunes, oral history, and popular culture.

Ethnologue includes a searchable bibliography of scholarly resources for researchers interested in language and culture.

Since 2003, the Florida Electronic Library has provided over 190 million articles, e-books, videos and other electronic resources to the citizens of Florida. Click on All Resources for a list of databases, reference books, and links to other valuable resources.

Described as "the largest word pronunciation dictionary in the world," includes audio playback clips of word pronunciations by native speakers in over 280 languages. The database was launched in 2008 and now contains over 1,250,000 pronunciations of nearly 1,200,000 words.

A map of languages spoken and taught in the United States, based on US Census data.

Smithsonian's human evolution research page.