It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recording and the record business -- Radio and television -- On the road -- Music retailing and wholesaling -- The business end of the industry -- Instrument repair, restoration, and design -- Publicity -- Symphonies, orchestras, operas, etc. -- Arenas, facilities, halls, and clubs -- Education -- Talent and writing -- Church music.
First published in 1992, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken for the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. Edited and largely written by Colin Larkin, it is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative - and incredibly fun to read. Critically lauded in its previous three editions, the Fourth Edition will not disappoint fans seeking authoritative and reliable information about popular music from around the world. Expanded to ten volumes, the new edition contains 6,000 new entries, and extensive revisions and updates throughout, yielding 50% more material than the 1998 Third Edition. In addition to thousands of biographical entries, this A-Z reference also includes entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record lables, venues, and festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. From Grateful Dead to The Killers, from Whitesnake to White Stripes, from R.E.M. to Blink-182, from The Jazz Singer to Jerry Springer - The Opera, and from Bye Bye Birdie to Rent, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Fourth Edition has something informative and clever to say about everyone's favorite band.
Whether you listen to Bach or Bono, music has a significant role in your life--even if you never realized it. Why does music evoke such powerful moods? The answers are at last becoming clear, thanks to revolutionary neuroscience and the emerging field of evolutionary psychology. Both a cutting-edge study and a tribute to the beauty of music itself, this book unravels a host of mysteries that affect everything from pop culture to our understanding of human nature, including: Are our musical preferences shaped in utero? Is there a cutoff point for acquiring new tastes in music? What do PET scans and MRIs reveal about the brain's response to music? Is musical pleasure different from other kinds of pleasure? Neuroscientist and former recording engineer Levitin explores music across cultures, brain disorders and developmental levels to unlock deep secrets about how nature and nurture forge a uniquely human obsession.
The Oxford Companion to Music is one of the most famous reference books of all time. Now in a completely new edition, this superb book contains over a million words and is the biggest, most authoritative, and most up to date single-volume music reference available. Drawing on the original Percy Scholes edition (1938) and the two volume edition by Denis Arnold (1983), this edition is fully revised and reworked for the 21st century.8000 entries, from brief definitions to in-depth essaysover 1000 new entriesideal for the amateur, the professional and the student150 expert contributorsplaces music in its social and cultural contextincludes analysis, theory, ethnomusicology and performance practiceincludes jazz, popular music and dance
This is a comprehensive essay on musical meaning and performing music meaningfully - 'interpreting music' in both senses of the term. The author argues that music, far from being closed to interpretation is the paradigm of interpretation in general.
The first edition of Beyond Talent quickly became a favorite among classical and jazz musicians, and has been used in courses at scores of conservatories and universities. This expanded second edition provides updated user-friendly advice, inspiring examples, and practical tools to advance a career in music. Packed with new tips and resources.
Since infancy we humans have had a high perceptual sensitivity to both the melodic, rhythmic and dynamic aspects of speech and music. It is, as far as we know, a uniquely human talent for perceiving, interpreting and appreciating music, dating as far back before words were spoken, or even invented. Music has an intriguing way with our hearing, our memory, our emotions and our expectations. As a listener we are often unaware of the active role we play when determining what music is exciting, comforting or exciting. Consequently, listening is not happening in the outside world of sounding music.
In her follow-up to Making Music and Enriching Lives: A Guide for All Music Teachers, Bonnie Blanchard offers students a set of tools for their musical lives that will help them stay engaged, even during the challenging times in their musical development. Blanchard discusses issues such as finding an instructor, selecting the right instrument, and choosing a college or conservatory. The book includes lessons on music theory and history as well as a guide to finding additional materials in print and online.