It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searchable "access to taxonomic information for every recognized species of amphibian in the world. Species accounts are being added regularly by specialists and volunteers and they contain species descriptions, life history information, conservation status, literature references, photos and range maps for many species."
"This database is intended to provide information on the classification of all living reptiles by listing all species and their pertinent higher taxa. The database therefore covers all living snakes, lizards, amphisbaenians and crocodiles." Provides primarily (scientific) names, synonyms, distributions and related data. Currently searchable by scientific name only.
"The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's online collection of public domain still photographs. The National Image Library contains still photo images of wildlife, plants, National Wildlife Refuges and other scenics, as well as wildlife management work."
A "global information system with all you ever wanted to know about fishes. FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more."
This online public library is available free to those with an IP address in the state of Florida. Contains comprehensive information in many fields. Access to books, journals, and other types of materials is available.
The Hymenoptera On-Line site, in addition to providing information on classification, provides access to taxonomic literature, mapping, specimen data, images, biological associations, and links to other on-line resources such as GenBank and the USDA Plants Database. Knowledge of ant names is not required, as those can be pulled down (via this gateway). Climbing up (search the parent) and down (see the children) the taxonomic hierarchy is possible.
A database of mammalian taxonomy. Is searchable by either the taxonomic (scientific) name or the common name of an animal. (Caution: "The common name information is not complete, and some commonly used mammal names may return no records or an incomplete list of records.")
The National Wetlands Research Center provides science with impact to ensure that its research is relevant and useful for resource managers, policy makers, and the public. To accomplish this, the Center seeks scientific discovery and knowledge, communicates timely science information, and engages in robust alliances with government, non-government, and university partners. To learn more, see the Center's Mission and Strategic Plan.
"A source for authoritative conservation information on more than 50,000 plants, animals, and ecological communities of the United States and Canada." One can search to find "scientific and common names, conservation status, distribution maps, life histories, conservation needs, and more."
A searchable database26 providing taxonomic, conservation status, and distribution information on taxa that have been evaluated using the World Conservation Union (IUCN) Red List Categories and Criteria. Although other groups are included, the only taxonomic groups which have been "comprehensively assessed" are the birds and mammals.