The database contains a list of recommended trees, palms, shrubs, flowers, groundcovers, grasses and vines developed by University of Florida/IFAS horticulture experts. The plants included in the database are available at nurseries throughout Florida.
The FLEPPC List of Invasive Plant Species is not a regulatory list. Only those plants listed as Federal Noxious Weeds, Florida Noxious Weeds, Florida Prohibited Aquatics Plants, or in local ordinances are regulated by law.
Infographs that give Florida gardeners a monthly guide for what to plant and do in their gardens and includes links to useful gardening websites, all based on University of Florida research and expertise. Three different editions of the calendar provide specific tips for each of Florida’s climate zones—North, Central, and South.
By the Seed Savers Exchange - Planning a garden involves deciding what crops to plant, how to efficiently use your space, and correctly timing of planting each crop. With a little extra planning, you can have a garden that provides a bountiful harvest of both produce and seeds.
Seed Libraries is a network of seed lending libraries. Seed libraries can vary from community to community, but the basic idea is that seeds are made available to the community for free or at a low cost.
Use this list of terms to expanding your knowledge and understanding of seed saving and gardening. The following definitions are drawn from The Seed Garden: The Art and Practice of Seed Saving, edited by Lee Buttala and Shanyn Siegel and published by Seed Savers Exchange.
The isolation distances and plant populations listed below are the optimal numbers for garden-scale seed saving. That said, the best way to build solid seed skills is a combination of researching the ideal methods and experimenting with your own approach. The only real mistake you can make is to not try.
Southern Exposure Seed Exchange offers more than 700 varieties of vegetable, flower, herb, grain and cover crop seeds. We emphasize varieties that perform well in the Mid-Atlantic and Southeast, although gardeners and farmers from all over the country grow our seeds.
The University of Florida's Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (UF/IFAS) is a federal, state, and county partnership dedicated to developing knowledge in agriculture, human and natural resources, and the life sciences and to making that knowledge accessible to sustain and enhance the quality of human life.
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references. This information primarily promotes land conservation in the United States and its territories, but academic, educational, and general use is encouraged. PLANTS reduces government spending by minimizing duplication and making information exchange possible across agencies and disciplines.
This project engages the Daytona Beach area at large as an open and free community garden. Working with the many knowledgeable nurseries, farmers, permaculturists, and other disciplines both new and experienced gardeners are supported beyond the physical garden. This community garden will become a social nexus for the environmental, sustainable, and organic community of Daytona Beach.
Volusia County Master Gardeners are volunteers who serve as "plant assistants" to residents who call the University of Florida/Volusia County Extension with gardening questions. Master Gardeners must pass a 80-hour course on urban gardening and are expected to volunteer 75 hours the first year, 35 hours each year in following years to the Extension and earn 10 continuing horticultural educational units.
Stetson's Seed Library began as a sustainability project in an honors first-year seminar. Students took the challenge of planning a small, versatile seed bank and exchange that would allow gardeners and native plant lovers a place to save, share, and learn together. The Resource Room of the Rinker Environmental Learning Center has become its official address, because it is home to Hatter Harvest, the Pollination Station, the Volusia Sandhill Ecosystem restoration, and next door to the Native Plant Landscape of the Gillespie Museum.
Residents who need answers to questions such as "When do I plant?" "What kind of grass is best for this area?" and "When do I fertilize?" find the Extension Service is the place to call. The Residential Horticulture agent and trained master gardeners are never too busy to answer your questions on gardening.