Books in this very practical series point the way toward good careers for young men and women who don't plan to get a college degree. However, all occupations described do require specialized training, either on the job or in technical or vocational classroom settings. Cosmetology is a growing field with a positive job outlook and many available career paths. This book describes how and where to find training for positions that include professional stylist, nail technician, skin esthetician, massage therapist, make-up artist, cosmetics manufacturer's representative, salon manager and other rewarding careers
For every man wanting to look his best, this complete hair care guide is a personal care essential! From the basics of hair type and structure, to styles, cuts, color, special hair treatments, and grooming techniques, all of the latest information is provided by professionals in the industry. Get practical advice on shaving, whether face or head, and learn how to choose and use razors that will work best for you. Understand the options for treating hair loss and where to get expert help. Want a new look? Learn the how-to's of styling with step-by-step instructions and illustrations for experimenting with new styles. Whether you're seeking a new style, advice, or instruction, all you need in hair care is right here.
The Milady Standard Cosmetology 2012 textbook takes advantage of the most sophisticated methods for relaying information, stimulating thought, aiding comprehension, and enhancing retention. This new edition contains a completely revised section on infection control principles and practices, new procedures, and revised and updated chapters written by industry experts, as well as step-by-step procedures demonstrated specifically for left-handed individuals.
Grow any type of natural, black hair longer than it's ever been; with defined curls, feeling soft and manageable, and all in a short amount of time. Unlike popular belief, Black hair isn't naturally short, dry, or coarse. ALL types of Black hair can maintain long lengths, lustrous shine, and beautiful curls. The key is to change the way we take care of our hair to support our unique hair's needs. The way we comb, wash, even dry our hair and the products we apply to it - all to need to complement our goals of strengthening our hair from its core to the outer shaft, building elasticity, restoring our original hair texture and curl pattern, and retaining our hair growth so that our hair grows long and beautiful. This book will help you to rethink your own hair's potenitial and learn what your hair needs to thrive, grow and be absolutely beautiful, without any chemical influences. Going natural can be such a liberating experience. With this book, you can make that experience a much easier, rewarding transition.
Perfect for students and professionals, this newly revised A-Z reference defines many terms and phrases used in cosmetology, dermatology, esthetics, hair structure and chemistry, nail technology, nutrition, color, massage therapy, and professional skills. The "sounds like" format of the pronunciation keys makes it easy to say even the most difficult words (B&N)
Updated with a an expanded list of business and beauty industry resourcesUpdated with new resources, fresh interviews, and current industry trends and statistics, this new edition shows you how to make your mark in today's thriving personal care industry and start your own full-service hair salon and spa. Covering two hot categories within the thriving personal care industry,Start Your Own Hair Salon and Day Spa, Second Edition provides all you need to turn your dream into reality.Start Your Own Hair Salon and Day Spa, Second Edition: Presents industry research, business category options and real-life business examples to help you build a practical business plan Includes resources, worksheets, forms and checklists to ensure efficiency and organization Provides the real numbers behind startup costs, fees and earnings potential Offers an expanded list of business and beauty industry resources Includes a new, detailed chapter on massage therapy, a popular service that new entrepreneurs can add to their offerings Provides advertising and PR methods that'll help build business immediatelyTurn your passion into a business venture and start a business within the thriving personal care industry today.
There was something very special and beautiful about women in the early- to mid-20th century. The way they dressed was elegant and the way they wore their hair was feminine. This book shows how to create so many of those hairstyles by taking hairstyles from the 1930s, 40s, 50s, and 60s and breaking them down into simple, easy-to-follow instructions. It uses brand new photographs and detailed directions. Not only a manual, it is also fun to read.(Google books)
***downloadable ebook****The electron microscope has been used in hair research for half a century, but the knowledge gained through this study has become rather fragmented over the years. While the molecular biological study of hair has become an active field, even here, as in more traditional research, an understanding of the morphological aspects is essential because the hair follicle structure is highly complex
***downloadable ebook****This is a guide to the syndrome, filled with reassuring advice for patients and their families. Endorsed by the Trichotillomania Learning Center, the handbook includes all the information a patient or relative needs to understand the illness and to cope with it.; Dr Penzel provides a detailed discussion of causes and he reviews all the treatment options, describing the most effective medications and their side effects, as well as the recommended cognitive and behavioural treatments.
***downloadable ebook****This is a 3-in-1 reference book. It gives a complete medical dictionary covering hundreds of terms and expressions relating to hair transplants. It also gives extensive lists of bibliographic citations (Amazon)