Basic and applied psychologists explore higher order cognition in adolescence and young adulthood. Their goals are to advance the basic science of the developing brain by focusing on key problems that are ripe for groundbreaking discoveries; and to apply current theory and high-quality research methods to real-world problems of learning, cognition, and development. They cover foundations; memory, meaning, and representation; learning, reasoning, and problem solving; and judgment and decision making.
Sexuality is a fundamental component of human psychological experience, and yet it remains relatively underrepresented in the history of the psychological sciences. The APA Handbook on Sexuality and Psychology marks a turning point in the status of sexuality within the discipline of psychology. This comprehensive, two-volume handbook provides an overarching review of current empirical research on sexuality and a synthesis of the dominant theoretical perspectives that have guided both research and clinical p
Movies and Mental Illness has established a great reputation as an enjoyable and highly memorable supplementary teaching tool for abnormal psychology classes. Written by experienced clinicians and teachers, who are themselves movie aficionados, this book is superb not just for psychology or media studies classes, but also for anyone interested in the portrayal of mental health issues in movies.
An influential psychologist who is convinced that many important CEOs and politicians are, in fact, psychopaths teaches Ronson how to spot these high-flying individuals by looking out for little telltale verbal and nonverbal clues. And so Ronson, armed with his new psychopath-spotting abilities, enters the corridors of power.
Cross-Cultural Psychology is a leading textbook offering senior undergraduate and graduate students a thorough and balanced overview of the whole field of cross-cultural psychology. The team of internationally acclaimed authors present the latest empirical research, theory, methodology and applications from around the world.
This book looks at the question psychologists have been asking for over a hundred years - why are we the way we are? It starts with you, your mind and brain, broadening out to look at your friends and other relationships, then finally on to crowds, mobs and religion. It explores the latest research relevant to crime, schooling, sport, politics, shopping and health, and what happens when the mind goes wrong, including depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, and more unusual conditions.
An essential guide for parents, teachers, and caregivers, this text provides an informational guide to cognitive development at every stage of a child's life. It includes expert tips and guidance on how to diagnose, treat, and overcome the cognitive barriers that impede learning and development.
The book provides a comprehensive coverage of psychological theories of crime and criminality, emphasising the connections among approaches, and to show how, taken together, they provide a more complete picture of crime and criminality.
If you are working or training as a teacher, you should find that this book gives focused and up-to-date coverage of the research findings about many of the areas in which you are involved. If you are simply interested in education, the book describes various findings with implications for what we can expect from schooling and the ways in which it might be organized.